Willie Nelson Joins Rounder Roster

willieWillie Nelson has signed with Rounder Records for the release of his next studio album, Country Music, coming April 13.

Produced by T Bone Burnett, Country Music features old-time banjo master Riley Baugus, double bassist Dennis Crouch, Buddy Miller on guitar, Mickey Raphael on harmonica, Burnett himself and others.

“Some folks have mistakenly called it bluegrass,” says Burnett. “It’s actually pre-bluegrass. It’s some of the songs Willie’s been singing his whole life.” The material ranges from 1920s to 1960s.

Recorded live in Nashville in four days, it includes “The Man With the Blues,” which Burnett says is the first song Willie ever wrote. Other tracks include covers of “Dark As a Dungeon” by Merle Travis and “You Done Me Wrong” by Ray Price.

Nelson, known for a relentless touring schedule of over 200 days a year, will return to the road again in 2010. The full tour itinerary is yet-to-be announced.

The legendary artist, songwriter, actor, and social activist has a career spanning six decades and more than 200 releases.

In August 2009 Blue Note released his Grammy nominated studio album American Classic. Prior to that he was signed to Lost Highway Records.

Country Music track listing:

1. Man With The Blues
2. Seaman’s Blues
3. Dark As A Dungeon
4. Gotta Walk Alone
5. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
6. My Baby’s Gone
7. Freight Train Boogie
8. Satisfied Mind
9. You Done Me Wrong
10. Pistol Packin’ Mama
11. Ocean Of Diamonds
12. Drinking Champagne
13. I Am A Pilgrim
14. House of Gold
15. Nobody’s Fault But Mine


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Tags: ,

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile