Buddy Miller Wins Big At Americana Awards

(l-r) Buddy Miller & Justin Townes Earle photo credit: Ray Kennedy/The Image Thief

Award winners Buddy Miller (L) and Justin Townes Earle (R) Photo: Ray Kennedy/The Image Thief

Acclaimed singer/songwriter/producer Buddy Miller won almost every award for which he was nominated at last night’s (9/17) 8th Annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Show, held at the Ryman Auditorium. He and his collaborators, including wife Julie Miller, walked away with Artist, Album, Duo/Group of the Year, and Song of the Year. The only thing standing between Miller and a clean sweep was Gurf Morlix winning Instrumentalist of the Year. A detailed account of the Americana Awards is available to paid subscribers in today’s @MusicRow.

The packed performance line-up included John Fogerty, Ray Benson and Asleep At The Wheel, and Sam Bush celebrating their lifetime achievement awards. John Prine and Nanci Griffith sang a duet in honor of recipient Jim Rooney. Hosted by Jim Lauderdale, the show also included performers Rodney Crowell, The Gourds, Raul Malo, The Flatlanders, Reckless Kelly, and the nominees for New & Emerging Artist of The Year—Band of Heathens, The Belleville Outfit, Sarah Borges and Justin Townes Earle. Earle took home the trophy in that category.

The show ended with an all-star jam around “Dixie Chicken,” a salute to the posthumous President’s Award recipient Lowell George of Little Feat.

The Americana Music Association’s annual festival and conference, featuring panels and approximately 100 performances by legends and the next generation of stars, runs through Saturday at venues throughout Nashville.

(l-r) Emmylou Harris, Justin Townes Earle, Jim Lauderdale, John Fogerty & Buddy Miller photo credit: Erika Goldring

(l-r) Emmylou Harris, Justin Townes Earle, Jim Lauderdale, John Fogerty & Buddy Miller. Photo: Erika Goldring

Americana Awards
Album Of The Year: “Written In Chalk,” Buddy & Julie Miller
Artist Of The Year: Buddy Miller
Duo/Group Of The Year: Buddy & Julie Miller
New & Emerging Artist Of The Year: Justin Townes Earle
Instrumentalist Of The Year: Gurf Morlix
Song Of The Year: “Chalk” Written By Julie Miller, Performed By Buddy Miller And Patty Griffin

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Performance: Asleep At The Wheel
Executive: Ken Levitan
Songwriter: John Fogerty
Producer/Engineer: Jim Rooney
Instrumentalist: Sam Bush
President’s Award: Lowell George


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Tags: ,

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile