ASCAP Christian Awards Honor MercyMe, Dan Muckala

Pictured (l-r): Songwriter of the Year Dan Muckala, ASCAP’s Tim DuBois, EMI CMG Publishing’s Eddie DeGarmo, Third Day’s Mark Lee, Tai Anderson and Mac Powell, ASCAP’s Marc Driskill. Photo: Kay Williams

Songwriter Dan Muckala, and band MercyMe were among the top honorees at last night’s (3/28) ASCAP Christian Music Awards, presented at Nashville’s Richland Country Club.

ASCAP VP and Managing Executive, Nashville Tim DuBois, presented Muckala with his first Songwriter of the Year award. Muckala penned three of ASCAP’s most performed Christian songs of the past year, including Song of the Year “All of Creation,” recorded by MercyMe. The song spent an extraordinary 9 weeks at No. 1 on the Christian radio charts.

Accepting for ASCAP's 2011 Christian Song of the Year, “All of Creation.” Pictured (l-r): Simpleville Music's Kirk Dahlgren, Christopher Steadman and Mark Nicholas, Songwriter of the Year Dan Muckala, ASCAP's Tim DuBois, Kobalt Music's Jeff Skaggs. Photo: Kay Williams

MercyMe was honored with its first-ever ASCAP Songwriter/Artist of the Year award. In addition to taking home Song of the Year last night, the band has collectively received 52 ASCAP Most Performed Song awards throughout its career.

ASCAP Publisher of the Year honors went to EMI CMG Publishing for the eighth consecutive time. The company had six award-winning songs: “Before the Morning,” “I Will Follow,” “Jesus Saves,” “Lead Me,” “My Help Comes From the Lord” and “Our God.”

In a special presentation, Third Day became the first Christian artist to receive the Vanguard Award for extraordinary impact. Kerrie Roberts and newcomer Trevor Morgan saluted the band with a musical tribute of some of its biggest hits.

Among the other award winners who performed for the industry crowd were Brandon Heath, Matthew West, Chris August and Sanctus Real.

Third Day was honored with ASCAP's Vanguard Award for its extraordinary contributions to Christian music. Pictured (l-r): ASCAP's Tim DuBois, Third Day's Mark Lee, Tai Anderson and Mac Powell, Provident Music's Terry Hemmings. Photo: Kay Williams


Accepting for ASCAP's 2011 Christian Publisher of the Year, EMI CMG Publishing. Pictured (l-r): EMI CMG Publishing's Matt Ewald, Jimi Williams and Casey McGinty, ASCAP's Tim DuBois, EMI CMG's Eddie DeGarmo, Jeremy Ash, John Thompson and Kent Draughon. Photo: Kay Williams


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations, Publishing

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile