UMPG Re-Signs Two Hit Songwriters

UMPG has recently re-signed Rivers Rutherford and Luke Laird to exclusive world-wide publishing agreements.

Rutherford, who originally signed with UMPG in 1996 has had 8 No. 1 hit songs, and has enjoyed numerous awards and nominations from ASCAP, Billboard, ACM and CMA. Rutherford received the ASCAP Song of the Year in 2002 for "Ain't Nothin' 'Bout You" recorded by Brooks & Dunn and was honored with ASCAP's Songwriter of the Year award in 2006. Rutherford's songs have been recorded by Keith Urban, Carrie Underwood, Tim McGraw, Gretchen Wilson, Reba McEntire, Gary Allan, Faith Hill, LeAnn Rimes, Blake Shelton, Deana Carter, Justin Moore, Darius Rucker, Trick Pony, and Montgomery Gentry. Pictured (L-R): UMPG Nashville’s President Pat Higdon and UMPG Nashville’s Senior Vice President-Creative Kent Earls; Seated: Rivers Rutherford; Photo by: Kay Williams

Luke Laird has had numerous No. 1 hits including “Last Name” and “So Small” both off Carrie Underwood’s "Carnival Ride" CD which has scanned over 3 million units to date. Laird also co-wrote four songs on Underwood’s third and most recent release "Play On," including her current single, “Temporary Home.” “Hillbilly Bone,” recorded by Blake Shelton and featuring Trace Adkins, is another current Laird penned single climbing the country charts. Tim McGraw, Rascal Flatts, Lee Ann Womack, Jessica Simpson, Holly Williams, Clay Walker, Jessica Harp, Julianne Hough, Little Big Town, Katharine McPhee, Joe Nichols and Laura Bell Bundy are just a few of the artists who have recently chosen to record Luke’s work. Pictured (l-r): UMPG Nashville’s Senior Vice President – Creative Kent Earls, UMPG Nashville’s President Pat Higdon. Seated: Luke Laird; Photo by: Kay Williams


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured, Publishing

About the Author

View Author Profile