2017 MusicRow Awards: Producer Of The Year Nominees

Following yesterday’s (May 23) announcement of this year’s nominees for the 29th annual MusicRow Awards, we take a look at the MusicRow Producer of the Year category. Nominees conjured up some of country music’s most innovative projects during the last 12 months. Here’s a look at the highlights for the 2017 MusicRow Awards Category 1.

The MusicRow Awards will be presented at a private ceremony.

See the full list of MusicRow Awards nominees.

Winners are determined solely by MusicRow subscribers. Voting closes on Tuesday, May 30 at 5 p.m. If you do not have a subscription, you may subscribe to receive a ballot.

Buddy Cannon (Kenny Chesney, Alison Krauss, Aaron Lewis, Willie Nelson, Randy Rogers Band)

Buddy Cannon continued helping longtime collaborator Kenny Chesney evolve, including producing his hit single featuring pop star Pink, “Setting the World on Fire.” Cannon also re-teamed with Willie Nelson for the acclaimed project God’s Problem Child, and took on production duties for a comeback album by revered songstress Alison Krauss (Windy City). Cannon was previously named MusicRow Producer of the Year in 2004.

Ross Copperman (Dierks Bentley, Brett Eldredge, Trent Harmon, Ryan Kinder, Jake Owen, Darius Rucker, Drake White, Eli Young Band)

Ross Copperman led Dierks Bentley, Jake Owen, Brett Eldredge, and many others to radio success this year. He produced No. 1s for Bentley (“Black”) and Owen (“American Country Love Song”). His work with Eldredge yielded the chart-toppers “Drunk On Your Love” and “Wanna Be That Song,” the latter of which is nominated for MusicRow Song of the Year. As a songwriter, Copperman co-wrote six No. 1s, including the aforementioned titles, and was named BMI Country Songwriter of the Year.

Dann Huff (Kane Brown, Billy Currington, The Cadillac Three, Delta Rae, Ryan Follese, Brantley Gilbert, Hunter Hayes, Martina McBride, Midland, Thomas Rhett, Steven Tyler, Keith Urban, Brett Young)

Dann Huff’s lengthy list of credits includes Keith Urban, Thomas Rhett, Brantley Gilbert, Billy Currington, Brett Young, and many more. He received the 2016 CMA Award for Single of the Year for being a producer of Thomas Rhett’s “Die a Happy Man,” which spent 17 weeks at No. 1 on Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart. Huff is a two-time MusicRow Magazine Producer of the Year (2006, 2013).

Jay Joyce (Brothers Osborne, Brandy Clark, Eric Church, Devin Dawson, LANCO, Little Big Town, Carrie Underwood, The Wild Feathers)

Jay Joyce brought his production genius to albums of all genres, ranging from country hitmaker Eric Church to rock band The Wild Feathers. He earned CMA Album of the Year for Church’s Mr. Misunderstood, and his work on Brandy Clark’s Big Day In A Small Town album helped her earn multiple Grammy nods. In addition, Joyce produced recent hits by Carrie Underwood (“Dirty Laundry”), Little Big Town (“Better Man”), and the Brothers Osborne (“Stay A Little Longer”). He was the 2015 MusicRow Producer of the Year.

Frank Liddell (Derik Hultquist, Miranda Lambert, David Nail, Aubrie Sellers, Charlie Worsham)

Frank Liddell teamed with longtime collaborator Miranda Lambert to produce her ambitious double album The Weight Of These Wings. The project debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart and spawned two Grammy Award nominations for Best Country Solo Performance and Best Country Song for lead single “Vice.” Additionally, “Vice” is in the running for MusicRow Song of the Year. Liddell was voted MusicRow Producer of the Year in 2014, 2012 and 2010.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile