Industry Ink Wednesday

The Country Music Association, and special guests Little Big Town, unveiled plans at Belmont University for CMA EDU. (l-r) LBT's Phillip Sweet and Kimberly Schlapman, CMA Senior Coordinator of Partner Programs Sarah McGrady, CMA Vice President of Strategic Partnerships Sheri Warnke, CMA Board Member and LBT member Karen Fairchild, and LBT's Jimi Westbrook.

The Country Music Association and special guests Little Big Town earlier this week unveiled plans for a education-based, national college initiative named CMA EDU. The program is designed to engage undergraduate students with a hands-on opportunity to enhance their marketing and promotion skills.

Belmont University was chosen to host the pilot program for CMA EDU, which currently boasts more than 115 members. As enthusiasm continues to build, the program will expand to other universities.

Sarah McGrady, CMA Senior Coordinator of Partner Programs, spearheads the project. Dan Keen, a former ASCAP VP and instructor in music publishing at Belmont serves as faculty adviser for CMA EDU.

• • • • •

Carter's Chord

Show Dog-Universal Music recording artists Carter’s Chord have signed with Jennifer Bohler’s Alliance Media for exclusive PR representation. The group just released their new single and music video, “A Little Less Comfortable.”

• • • • •

The Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum will unveil the new photographic exhibition, Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge: Thirty-Four Steps and Fifty Years on April 1. The exhibition will run through September 30, 2011, featuring a dozen photographs that capture memorable moments at Tootsie’s, including Jamey Johnson and Mel Tillis performing together; and Kenny Chesney and Steve Miller onstage.

• • • • •

ASCAP President and Chairman of the Board Paul Williams recently announced the organization’s new board, elected to serve a two-year term commencing April 1, 2011. Among the Nashvillians on the board are songwriter Wayland Holyfield, and publisher Barry Coburn.

Here’s the complete list: songwriter Marilyn Bergman; composer Richard Bellis; composer Bruce Broughton; songwriter Hal David; composer Dan Foliart; songwriter Wayland Holyfield; composer Johnny Mandel; songwriter Valerie Simpson; songwriter Jimmy Webb; and composer Doug Wood; composer Stephen Paulus; Martin Bandier, Sony/ATV; Caroline Beinstock, Bienstock Publishing; Barry Coburn, Ten Ten Music; John L. Eastman, Edwin H. Morris; Roger Faxon, EMI Music; David Johnson, Warner Brothers Music; Dean Kay, Lichelle Music; Leeds Levy, Leeds Music; David Renzer, Universal Music; Irwin Z. Robinson, Cromwell Music; James Kendrick, Schott Music Corporation/European American Music Corporation; and Laurent Hubert, BMG Gold Songs.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile