ACM Reveals Off-Camera Award Winners

Reba will receive the ACM's Career Achievement Award this fall.

Today’s just-announced off-camera awards will be presented at the ACM Honors, a special event held annually in the fall at the historic Ryman Auditorium.

Industry Awards
Casino of The Year – Mohegan Sun Casino – Uncasville, CT
Don Romeo Talent Buyer of The Year – Steve “Bogie” Bogdanovich – Romeo Entertainment Group
Nightclub of The Year – Joe’s Bar – Chicago, IL
Promoter of The Year – Sally Williams – Ryman Auditorium
Venue of The Year – Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN

Musicians, Band, Instrumental Awards
Producer of The Year – Paul Worley
Audio Engineer of The Year  – Chuck Ainlay
Bass Player of The Year  – Glenn Worf
Percussionist/Drummer of The Year – Eddie Bayers
Guitarist of The Year – Tom Bukovac
Fiddle Player of The Year – Aubrey Haynie
Piano/Keyboard Player of The Year – Gordon Mote
Specialty Instrument(s) Player of The Year  – Bryan Sutton
Steel Guitar Player of The Year – Dan Dugmore

Special Awards

Garth Brooks will be honored with the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award.

The Career Achievement Award will go to longtime ACM Awards show host and member of the new class of the Country Music Hall of Fame, Reba. Now in the third decade of her career, she actively pursues opportunities on Broadway, television, film and fashion, and remains one of the best-selling country artists in history, with record sales approaching 57 million.

The Jim Reeves International Award will be presented to Taylor Swift for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.

The Tex Ritter Award will go to the movie Country Strong.

The Mae Boren Axton Award will go to John Dorris. He launched Hallmark Direction Company in 1983 with Don Williams as his first client. Since then, Dorris has worked with numerous country artists, including ACM winners Montgomery Gentry and Blake Shelton. His career includes successful tenures at Monument Records and Combine Music Publishing, aiding the careers of artists like Roy Orbison, Kris Kristofferson, Larry Gatlin, Billy Joe Shaver, Billy Swan and others. A champion of songwriters as well as an expert in tax accounting, he currently serves on the ACM Board of Directors as Treasurer.

The Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, honoring individuals who are pioneers in the country music genre, will salute Garth Brooks and Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers.

The Poet’s Award will be given to acclaimed songwriters Tom T. Hall the late Hank Cochran for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in the field of country music.

The Academy of Country Music Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded during years where the Board of Directors feels there are clear and deserving candidates. Industry Awards are voted on by professional members of the Academy. The MBI ballot is voted on by professional members of the Academy classified in the Artist-Entertainer/Musician-Bandleader-Instrumentalist category, and the Producer-Engineer-Studio Manager sub-category (contained within the Affiliated category).


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile