“Nashville Scene” Compiles Country Critics Poll

The Nashville Scene corresponded with 77 writers from across North America for this year’s Country Music Critics Poll.

Jamey Johnson led the pack, being voted Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, and Male Vocalist of the Year. Meanwhile, his ambitious two-disc effort, The Guitar Song, as voted the year’s best album.

Miranda Lambert’s “The House That Built Me” was selected by critics as the year’s best single; they also named her Female Vocalist of the Year and runner-up Artist of the Year.

Also garnering attention were Dierks Bentley, Taylor Swift, Elizabeth Cook, Little Big Town, Zac Brown Band, Easton Corbin and others.

Written and compiled by Geoffrey Himes, the cover story explores the current state of country music, and includes an interview with Cook.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile