James Otto To Shake Things Up In September

Warner Bros. Records has set a Sept. 14 release date for James Otto‘s sophomore album, Shake What God Gave Ya. Recorded in Nashville and co-produced with Paul Worley (Big & Rich, Lady Antebellum, The Dixie Chicks), the project further captures Otto’s country-meets-soul sound.

A sought-after writer for other artists, Otto penned 11 of the 12 tracks on the project, including Country Breakout Chart Top 15 hit “Groovy Little Summer Song” and his duet with Ronnie Milsap, “Good Things Gone Bad.”

“Musically I’d say I’m the love child between Ronnie Milsap and Barry White,” laughs Otto. “This sexy, sultry, soulful sound makes you wanna move and dance. And that is exactly what I want fans to do while listening to this album, Shake What God Gave Ya!”

Shake What God Gave Ya is the follow-up to his 2008 debut Sunset Man, which landed at No. 3 on the Billboard Top 200 album chart and delivered “Just Got Started Lovin’ You” which was the year’s most played single at country radio and Billboard’s No. 1 Hot Country Song.

Last year, Otto won ACM and CMA Awards for Song of the Year as a co-writer for “In Color,” a track that also earned him a Grammy nod for Best Country Song. He is on the road this summer headlining solo dates and opening for Toby Keith and Trace Adkins on the American Ride Tour.

Shake What God Gave Ya Track Listing:

1. Are Ya With Me
2. Groovy Little Summer Song
3. Lover Man
4. Soldiers & Jesus
5. Love Don’t Cost A Thing
6. Sun Comes Round Again
7. Shake What God Gave Ya
8. It’s A Good Time (For A Good Time)
9. Just Like Sunshine
10. Let’s Just Let Go
11. She Comes To Me
12. Good Things Gone Bad featuring Ronnie Milsap


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile