ACM Off-Camera Winners Revealed

Today the Academy of Country Music is announcing the winners of awards that will not be televised during the 45th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards on April 18.

Instead, these Special Awards, Industry Awards and MBI Awards are presented to recipients at the ACM Honors, a special event set for Tuesday, September 21, 2010 in Nashville.

The April 18 ACM Awards ceremony will be broadcast live from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas on CBS.


Jim Reeves International AwardKeith Urban has been chosen to receive the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.

Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award— Marty Robbins and Mel Tillis have been chosen to receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award honoring individuals who are pioneers in the country music genre.

Poet’s AwardDon Schlitz and Cindy Walker have been selected to receive the Poet’s Award, which honors songwriters for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in the field of country music.

Tex Ritter AwardCrazy Heart has been chosen as the recipient of the Tex Ritter Award, which is given to a movie released and/or receiving major exposure during the preceding calendar year, featuring or utilizing country music. Crazy Heart is produced by CMT Films, Butcher’s Run Films and Informant Media; and distributed by Fox Searchlight Pictures. The movie soundtrack was produced by T Bone Burnett, who also co-wrote the original song “The Weary Kind,” with artist/co-writer Ryan Bingham.

Mae Boren Axton Award – CAA Agent Rod Essig has been chosen as the recipient of the Mae Boren Axton Award, which is given in recognition of years of dedication and service by an outstanding individual to the Academy of Country Music.

Top Guitarist Of The Year – Brent Mason
Top Piano/Keyboard Player Of The Year – Michael Rojas
Top Bass Player Of The Year – Michael Rhodes
Top Percussionist/Drummer Of The Year – Shannon Forrest
Top Steel Guitar Player Of The Year – Paul Franklin
Top Fiddle Player Of The Year – Stuart Duncan
Top Specialty Instrument(s) Player – Randy Scruggs
Audio Engineer Of The Year – Justin Niebank
Producer Of The Year – Dann Huff

Nightclub Of The Year – Billy Bob’s Texas – Ft. Worth, TX
Casino Of The Year – Green Valley Ranch Resort, Spa And Casino – Las Vegas, NV
Don Romeo Talent Buyer Of The Year – Todd Boltin – Variety Attractions, Inc.
Promoter Of The Year – Brian O’Connell – Live Nation
Venue Of The Year – Sommet Center – Nashville, TN (Effective March 2, 2010, this venue was renamed The Bridgestone Arena)

The Academy of Country Music Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded during years where the Board of Directors feels there are clear and deserving candidates.  MBI Awards and Industry Awards are voted on by professional members of the Academy.


In more ACM news, online fan voting is now open for Entertainer of the Year and Top New Artist at The winner will be announced on the 45th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards on Sunday, April 18.

Nominees Kenny Chesney, Toby Keith, Brad Paisley, George Strait, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Keith Urban and Zac Brown Band vie for Entertainer of the Year with fan voting powered by the Ram Truck Brand.

Additionally, for the first time, fans can vote for Top New Artist from among nominees Luke Bryan, Gloriana and Joey + Rory (who have already been named Top New Solo Vocalist, Top New Vocal Group and Top New Vocal Duo, respectively).

Fans can vote for Top New Artist through the start of the live broadcast and Entertainer of the Year into the third hour of the show.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile