Ole Acquires Richie McDonald Catalogue

rmMusic publisher ole has acquired the majority of songwriter/performer Richie McDonald’s 250-song catalogue, and entered an administration deal with him for select new copyrights. Best known as the singer for multi-platinum group Lonestar, McDonald’s catalogue includes the No. 1s “I’m Already There,” “ My Front Porch Looking In,” and “Mr. Mom,” as well as the hits “Coming Home for Christmas,” “Let Them Be Little,” “Mountains,” and “Simple as That.” His songs have also been recorded by John Michael Montgomery, Clay Walker, Billy Dean, Sara Evans and others.

With offices in Nashville, Los Angeles and Toronto, 
ole is one of the world’s largest independent, full-service music publishers. The ole catalogue includes over 40,000 songs and 30,000 hours of film and TV music. Among the company’s most recent awards are Canadian Country Music Association Publisher of the Year for 2007, 2008, 2009; SESAC #1 Most Performed Song “White Horse” (Liz Rose/Taylor Swift); and 2009 BMI Awards for “Trying To Stop Your Leaving” (Brett Beavers/James Beavers) and “Picture to Burn” (Rose/Swift). ole also earned its first Grammy nomination in December 2009 for Best Country Song for “White Horse.”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile