CMA Broadcast Awards Revealed


Jamey Johnson surprises "American Country Countdown" host Kix Brooks in-studio with news of his CMA National Broadcast Personality of the Year. (l-r) Johnson, Brooks, and Country Music Hall of Fame member Teddy Gentry of Alabama.

Jamey Johnson called several special radio stations on-air this morning (10/13) to tell them they won CMA Awards for Broadcast Personality of the Year and Radio Station of the Year. The winners, covering all market sizes, will be recognized during the The 43rd Annual CMA Awards, airing live Wednesday, Nov. 11 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network from the Sommet Center in Nashville.

Among the newly revealed winners is Kix Brooks, who is the first Country artist in history to claim a CMA Broadcast Awards trophy. As host of Citadel Media’s American Country Countdown, he won the National Broadcast Personality of the Year Award. “When Jamey Johnson walked in our ACC studio today, I wasn’t sure what was going on—thought maybe I’d forgotten about an interview or something. Next thing I know, he’s telling me that we won the CMA National Air Personality of the Year Award,” said Brooks. “The whole ACC team was in here screaming and jumping around! Everyone works hard and puts their all into making ACC the best it can be. I’m shocked, humbled, and extremely honored to accept this award on behalf of the entire American Country Countdown staff.”

2009 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners:
National – Kix Brooks, American Country Countdown, (Citadel Media)
Major Market – Cornbread, Pat James, Annie Henson, Harry Schroeder, Mac “Captain Mac” Douglas, “The Cornbread Morning Show featuring Cornbread, Pat James, Producer Annie, Father Harry, and Captain Mac,” WIL, St. Louis, Mo. (Bonneville International).
Large Market – Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, Kevin Freeman, “Jim Denny and Friends,” WFMS, Indianapolis, Ind. (Cumulus Media).
Medium Market – Jack Ryan, “WIVK at Night with Jack Ryan,” WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn. (Citadel).
Small Market – Gator Harrison, Greg “StyckMan” Owens, “Gator & The StyckMan,” WGSQ, Cookeville, Tenn. (Cookeville Communications).

2009 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners:
Major Market – KYGO, Denver/Boulder, Colo.
Large Market – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio.
Medium Market – KUZZ, Bakersfield, Calif.
Small Market – WKSF, Asheville, N.C.

• CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2008 were not eligible in 2009.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured, Organizations, Radio

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile