New Kris Kristofferson Double Album Announced

Kris Kristofferson. Photo: Marina Chavez

Kris Kristofferson. Photo: Marina Chavez

Kris Kristofferson will issue a new, two-volume album titled The Cedar Creek Sessions on June 17, just five days before his 80th birthday.

He recorded the album at Cedar Creek Recording in Austin, Texas, over three days in 2014, using some of his favorite musicians and giving the session a live feel.

The ensemble includes Shawn Camp on lead guitar, Kevin Smith on bass, Michael Ramos on keyboard, and Mike Meadows on drums. Camp and Tamara Saviano co-produced the session.

unnamedSheryl Crow is a special guest on a duet of “The Loving Gift,” a Kristofferson composition made famous by Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, but never recorded by Kristofferson.

Track Listing for The Cedar Creek Sessions:

Volume One
1. “Duvalier’s Dream”
2. “The Loving Gift” (with special guest Sheryl Crow)
3. “The Sabre and the Rose”
4. “The Law is for the Protection of the People”
5. “It No Longer Matters What I Do”
6. “Stagger Mountain Tragedy”
7. “The Wife You Save”
8. “Lay Me Down and Love the World Away”
9. “The Bigger the Fool (The Harder the Fall)”
10. “Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down”
11. “Spooky Lady’s Revenge”
12. “Forever In Your Love”
13. “Winter”

Volume Two
1. “Darby’s Castle”
2. “Me and Bobby McGee”
3. “Broken Freedom Song”
4. “Casey’s Last Ride”
5. “Billy Dee”
6. “Easter Island”
7. “For the Good Times”
8. “Help Me Make It Through the Night”
9. “Jody and the Kid”
10. “Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)”
11. “Risky Business”
12. “To Beat the Devil”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile