Country Music Hall Of Fame Induction Announcement Will Be Streamed

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 11.00.11 AM

The announcement of the three next Country Music Hall of Fame inductees will be streamed live on Tues., March 29.

The program will begin at 10 a.m. and will be hosted by Brenda Lee.

In 2016, the three induction categories are Modern Era, Veterans Era, and Non-Performer.

An artist becomes eligible for induction in the Modern Era category 20 years after they first achieve national prominence. An artist becomes eligible for induction in the Veterans Era category 40 years after they first achieve national prominence.

A Non-Performer honoree is awarded every three years, as part of a rotation with the Songwriter category and the Recording and/or Touring Musician category.


The Veterans Era and Modern Era categories have separate nominating committees, each made up of 12 industry leaders who serve three-year terms. The Modern Era nominating committee also oversees the rotating categories.

Final nominations are then submitted to two separate panels of electors, made up of historians and industry professionals that have a historical perspective on country music. One panel votes for both the Modern Era and the Rotating Categories, while a second panel votes for the Veterans Era category. Both panels are updated annually by the CMA Awards and Recognition Committee. Individuals can serve on both panels. All panelists remain anonymous and are appointed by the CMA Board of Directors.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile