AIMP Nashville Plans Inaugural Awards Show

AIMP-LOGO sliderThe Nashville Chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) will host the inaugural AIMP Nashville Awards, presented by Spotify, on April 18, 2016 at the historic Ryman Auditorium. Beginning at 6 p.m., the celebration will salute the top independent publishers, songs and songwriters of 2015.

Co-chaired by SMACKsongs’ Michael Baum and Wrensong’s Ree Buchanan, the AIMP created a planning committee to represent all sectors of the independent Nashville music community to conceptualize the event.

“Michael and I had a dream to create an event that celebrated independent songwriters and their publishers,” says Buchanan. “In Nashville, independents make up more that 50 percent of the market. That should be awarded.”

The invitation-only AIMP Nashville Awards will pay tribute to the top independent publisher, songwriter and song from 2015, as voted on by AIMP members. Top independent writer and publisher awards are calculated by the NEKST chart. The celebration will also honor the top-streamed country song on Spotify and Song Champion of the Year, recognizing a member of the industry whose actions exemplify him or her as a song/songwriter advocate.

“Spotify is delighted to be the sponsor of the AIMP Nashville Awards,” said James Duffett-Smith, Publisher Relations, Spotify. “The independent publishing community in Nashville has contributed an enormous amount to the music of this iconic town, and we are privileged to play a part in recognizing their talented songwriters.”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Awards, Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile