Songwriters Hall of Fame To Honor Del Bryant

del bryantBMI President Del Bryant will receive the Visionary Leadership Award at the upcoming 45th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner in New York City. The event is slated for Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel.

The Visionary Leadership Award acknowledges a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame Board of Directors who has made a significant contribution in furthering the ongoing mission of the organization and in elevating it to a level of prominence and distinction. Chairman Emeritus Hal Davis was the inaugural, and to date, only recipient of the award.

Under Bryant’s leadership at BMI, the PRO represents more than 600,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers in all genres of music and more than 8.5 million musical works. It has distributed more than $814 million in royalties for its 2013 fiscal year.

Inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at this year’s event include Ray Davies, Donovan, Graham Gouldman, Mark James and Jim Weatherly. The prestigious Johnny Mercer Award will be presented to Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff. Doug Morris will be honored with the Hitmaker Award and Dan Reynolds of Imagine Dragons will receive the Hal David Starlight Award.

Tickets begin at $1000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.

Exactly one year ago today, Bryant announced his retirement from BMI after more than 40 years. He is relocating from New York to Nashville and will continue as a consultant for the company.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile