CMA Broadcast Award Winners

Jason Aldean congratulates "CMT's Country Countdown USA" host Lon Helton.

Jason Aldean and Brad Paisley surprised radio professionals this week with news of their CMA Broadcast Award wins. Paisley called all Station and Broadcast Personality of the Year winners in the Small, Medium, Large, and Major Market categories.

Aldean notifed National Broadcast Personality of the Year winner Lon Helton during a visit to a taping of Helton’s popular “CMT’s Country Countdown USA.”

The CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year and CMA Radio Station of the Year recipients will be recognized during The 46th Annual CMA Awards, hosted by Paisley and Carrie Underwood Thurs., Nov. 1 at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena, airing live on ABC.

The announcement of the CMA Broadcast Award winners is the pinnacle of what CMA has deemed the Year of Country Radio. As a cornerstone of the campaign, CMA granted complimentary membership to every Country radio station in the U.S. as well as complimentary individual memberships to the general manager and program director at each station.

2012 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners
National – Lon Helton, “CMT’s Country Countdown USA with Lon Helton” (Dial Global)
Major Market – Donna Valentine and Mike Mussman, “K102 Wakeup Crew” KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
Large Market – Randy Carroll and Jamie Martin,“KJ and Friends” KAJA, San Antonio, Texas
Medium Market – Tom O’Brien, Roger Todd, and Melissa Moran, “The 97 Country Breakfast Club” WPCV, Lakeland-Winter Haven, Fla.
Small Market – Bill Poindexter and Melissa Turner, “Dex and Mo Show” WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.

2012 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners
Major Market – WKLB, Boston, Mass.
Large Market – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio.
Medium Market – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.
Small Market – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations, Radio

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile