Industry Ink (10/28/11)

The co-op’s Nancy Russell hosted a dinner at Giovanni’s in Nashville on Wednesday night (10/26). Russell won the dinner party for 12 during at a charity auction at the ‘Ete du Vin Nashville Crush event in July. Proceeds from the auction benefited the American Cancer Society. Pictured standing (L-R): Joe Galante, former Chairman, Sony Music Nashville; Phran Galante; Tom Baldrica, President, Average Joe’s Entertainment; John Esposito, President/CEO, Warner Music Nashville; Nancy Russell, President/Owner, the co-op; Tom Becci, COO/Finance, Capitol Records Nashville; Luann Becci; Maurice Miner, the co-op; and Jane Dungan. Seated: Tracy Baldrica; Mike Dungan, President/CEO, Capitol Records Nashville; and Chantal Esposito.

• • •

Belmont University will host industry vets Joe Galante and Clint Higham as guests at the next Insider’s View seminar on Wed., Nov. 2, at 6:30 p.m. in Belmont’s Massey Performing Arts Center. Co-sponsored by Avenue Bank and moderated by Harry Chapman, the evening’s panel discussion will revolve around the importance of building a team of trusted advisers in the entertainment industry, particularly their guidance of Kenny Chesney’s career. Members of the industry are invited to attend.

• • •

The NSAI Song Contest Presented by CMT has a Halloween deadline of Oct. 31. The contest boasts career-building industry relationships designed to help unsigned songwriters navigate the road to becoming professional hitmakers. The Grand Prize Winner will receive an exclusive mentoring session with songwriter/musician Charlie Daniels. All genres encouraged. Enter at

• • •

The Chris Austin Songwriting Contest, now in its 20th year, will begin accepting entries starting Nov. 1. Presented in conjunction with MerleFest 25, the contest will be held under the direction of volunteer chair Jim Lauderdale. MerleFest 25 takes place April 26-29, 2012 in Wilkesboro, N.C.

Starting Nov. 1, song entries may be submitted via the U.S. Postal Service to PO Box 121855, Nashville, TN 37212 or the contest page on Sonicbids. The deadline to submit material is February 18, 2012. Previous contest winners include Gillian Welch, Tift Merritt, Adrienne Young, Michael Reno Harrell, and more.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile