Cameron Strang Named CEO Warner/Chappell

Cameron Strang

Warner Music Group Corp. announced today the appointment of veteran music industry entrepreneur, Cameron Strang, as CEO of Warner/Chappell Music. The appointment was announced jointly by Warner Music Group’s Chairman & CEO, Edgar Bronfman, Jr., and Warner/Chappell’s Chairman & CEO, David H. Johnson.

Strang, the founder of New West Records and Southside Independent Music Publishing, will serve as Warner/Chappell’s CEO effective January 1, 2011 and will be based in Los Angeles. Johnson will continue as Warner/Chappell’s Chairman until July 1, 2011, at which point Strang will assume the additional role of Warner/Chappell’s Chairman. Johnson, who had served as WMG’s Executive Vice President and General Counsel since 1999, was initially elevated to serve as interim CEO of Warner/Chappell in 2006, and was subsequently promoted to Warner/Chappell’s Chairman & CEO in 2007.

Warner/Chappell has also acquired Strang’s Southside Independent Music Publishing, a leading independent music publishing company that was behind some of the biggest hits of 2010 including two of the songs nominated for the 2011 “Record of the Year” Grammy Award—B.o.B.’s “Nothin’ on You” and Cee Lo Green’s “F*** You.” Other recent hit songs on Southside include Brad Paisley’s No. 1 “American Saturday Night” and Uncle Kracker’s hit “Smile.”

Strang is the founder of both Southside Independent Music Publishing and New West Records, and co-founder of DMZ Records, a joint venture record label he launched with producer T-Bone Burnett, and filmmakers Joel and Ethan Coen.

With the acquisition of Southside, Warner/Chappell gains a roster including Nashvillians Ashley Gorley, Blair Daly and Matthew West, as well as Bruno Mars, and producer Brody Brown. In 2009, Southside acquired Nashville publisher Combustion Music, and the catalog of multi-Platinum rock act Kings of Leon.

Other top Southside songs include Carrie Underwood’s “Jesus, Take The Wheel,” “All American Girl” and “Just A Dream;” Trace Adkins’ “You’re Gonna Miss This;” Brad Paisley’s “Then” and “American Saturday Night;” Kenny Chesney’s “Where I Grew Up;” Darius Rucker’s “It Won’t Be Like This For Long;” Kings of Leon’s “Use Somebody,” and “Sex on Fire;” and Flo Rida’s “Right Round.”

Strang launched New West Records in 1995 with the signing of singer/songwriter Billy Joe Shaver. In 1998, he moved the label’s home to Los Angeles. During the last decade, Strang and New West have released numerous award-winning albums and built an impressive roster including Steve Earle, Dwight Yoakam, Kris Kristofferson, Rickie Lee Jones, Drive By Truckers, Ben Lee, Old 97’s, and Buddy and Julie Miller. Recently New West acquired the Texas Music Group, and released the award-winning soundtrack to the film Crazy Heart.

Read about changes at New West following Strang’s exit here.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile