New Music Now: Lady A, Josh Turner, More

lady-aCMA’s reigning “New Artist of the Year” Lady Antebellum just debuted the lead single from its forthcoming Capitol Nashville sophomore album. “Need You Now” goes for radio adds on Aug. 24 and was written by group members Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott, along with co-writer Josh Kear. Haywood says this of the new project, “The songs are more personal, the production is bigger, and I think we are in a stronger place vocally than we’ve ever been…just from all the touring we’ve done this year.  We’re really anxious to get home and get it finished.” In the meantime, Lady Antebellum has returned to the recording studio to put the finishing touches on the yet-to-be-titled album. For a sneak peak of “Need You Now,” click here.

josh-turner“Why Don’t We Just Dance” is the debut single from Josh Turner’s forthcoming album entitled Haywire, to be released on Nov. 10. The song, written by Jim Beavers, Jonathan Singleton and Darrell Brown, will be sent to radio stations across the country tomorrow (8/12) at Noon CT via Play MPE. On Aug. 19, “Why Don’t We Just Dance” will be available for streaming at and it will be for sale Aug. 25 at iTunes and all other digital partners.

The UMG Nashville artist also recently awarded his first namesake scholarship to a 2009 graduate of his alma mater high school in Hannah, SC. The scholarship is for students who want to pursue an education within music or the arts.

Stroudavarious Records has released Anthony Smith’s “Bringin’ Back The Sunshine,” his debut single for the label. This country rocker is taken from Smith’s Sunshine album (coming this winter) and was written by Smith and Jess Leary. Production duties were handled by Smith and acclaimed producer and Stroudavarious CEO James Stroud. “Bringin’ Back The Sunshine” will be available for download via digital music retailers in early September as part of the specially-priced Sunshine EP.

A video for the track directed by Taillight TV’s Traci Goudie is nearing completion. The video stars Derek Phillips (of NBC’s Friday Night Lights) and Danielle Rene, who is set to appear in the upcoming film, Tree Of Life, with Sean Penn and Brad Pitt.

As a songwriter, Smith has contributed hits to projects by George Strait, Rascal Flatts, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, Trace Adkins, Montgomery Gentry and countless others.


Cupit Records’ Ben Gregg is set to release his debut single, “Radio Waves,” on Aug. 17 via Play MPE and CDX. It is from his forthcoming self-titled CD slated for an early 2010 release. “Radio Waves” was written by Jerry Cupit. Gregg can also be seen on an upcoming episode of RFD-TV’s Music & Motors television series, performing, participating in a NASCAR pit crew challenge, and in interview segments.


Travis Rush is letting fans pick his new single from ten tunes posted at The single will be announced Oct. 27 and will be released to radio in early 2010 with GrassRoots Promotion’s Nancy Tunick leading the charge. In conjunction with the single release date, Rush has moved back his debut album release to March 16, 2010. The project is on Mason Records and will be distributed digitally by IODA and in retail stores by Burnside Distribution.

The New Relics will release their debut single “Beautiful” to country radio on Sept. 7. Based out of Morgantown, WV, their new CD is named Monongalia and the single is being worked by Debbie Gibson
of Spinville Records. The New Relics have spent the last few years touring mostly the east coast and building a solid fan base.
A new album by Montana native Ben Bullington features Rodney Crowell on guitar and vocals on the song “Toe The Line.” The CD, White Sulphur Springs, is out via King Easy Records, home to Darrell Scott, Jon Pousette-Dart and more.
The Civil Wars, a duo comprised of local songwriters Joy Williams and John Paul White, have  released a 10-song live digital album.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Radio

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile