Top IBMA Awards Go To The Earls Of Leicester, Flatt Lonesome

The Earls of Leicester. Photo: Dave Brainard

The Earls of Leicester. Photo: Dave Brainard

Bluegrass artists The Earls of Leicester, Flatt Lonesome and Becky Buller were among the top IBMA (International Bluegrass Music Association) Awards winners in Raleigh, North Carolina, on Thursday night (Sept. 29).

The Earls of Leicester, an all-star bluegrass band that solely performs from the catalog of Flatt & Scruggs and the Foggy Mountain Boys, claimed Entertainer of the Year. Individual members took home solo categories for Dobro Player of the Year (Jerry Douglas), Bass Player of the Year (Barry Bales) and Banjo Player of the Year (Charlie Cushman).

Flatt Lonesome — a band that includes siblings Kelsi, Charli and Buddy Robertson — walked away with awards for Album, Song and Vocal Group of the Year. Becky Buller was awarded the Female Vocalist and Fiddle Player of the Year.

Flatt Lonesome. Photo: Dave Brainard

Flatt Lonesome. Photo: Dave Brainard

The event was hosted by Sierra Hull and Dan Tyminski. During the ceremony, Hull won her first Mandolin Player of the Year award. Bryan Sutton claimed Guitar Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Danny Paisley won Male Vocalist of the Year, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen earned Instrumental Group of the Year, and Mountain Faith received Emerging Artist of the Year.

The show’s Bluegrass on Screen theme offered performances like “Man of Constant Sorrow” by Soggy Bottom Boys (O Brother, Where Art Thou), “Rainbow Connection” by the Lonely Heartstring Band (The Muppets) and the inclusion of archival clips from classics like The Beverly Hillbillies, Bonnie and Clyde, and Deliverance.

“What a wonderful night for bluegrass music’s award-winning performers,” said IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “To celebrate music from young rising stars like Flatt Lonesome alongside iconic songs from movie and television classics is a reflection of the depth and timeless appeal of the genre. Congratulations to all nominees and winners.”

Winners of the 27th Annual IBMA Awards are:

Entertainer of the Year: The Earls of Leicester
Female Vocalist of the Year: Becky Buller
Male Vocalist of the Year: Danny Paisley
Vocal Group of the Year: Flatt Lonesome
Instrumental Group of the Year: Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Song of the Year: “You’re the One,” Flatt Lonesome
Album of the Year: Runaway Train, Flatt Lonesome
Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: All Dressed Up, Joe Mullins and the Radio Ramblers
Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: “Fireball,” Special Consensus featuring Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley and Alison Brown
Emerging Artist of the Year: Mountain Faith
Recorded Event of the Year: “Longneck Blues,” Junior Sisk and Ronnie Bowman
Banjo Player of the Year: Charlie Cushman
Bass Player of the Year: Barry Bales
Dobro Player of the Year: Jerry Douglas
Fiddle Player of the Year: Becky Buller
Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton
Mandolin Player of the Year: Sierra Hull
Inductees into the Bluegrass HOF: Clarence White; the Rounder Founders: Ken Irwin, Marian Leighton Levy and Bill Nowlin
Distinguished Achievement Award: Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine, Boston Bluegrass Union, SiriusXM Radio’s Bluegrass Junction, Bill Emerson, Jim Rooney (handed out Thursday afternoon)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile