Industry Ink: Belmont University, Wordcountry, Louisiana Revival

Dr. Cheryl Carr Named Associate Dean At Belmont University

Cheryl Carr

Cheryl Carr

Belmont University’s Mike Curb College of Entertainment and Music Business has named Dr. Cheryl Carr as Associate Dean. In this position, Carr will oversee all undergraduate operations of the College including accreditation assessment, student advising, academic affairs and faculty development.

A frequent presenter, writer and researcher, Carr is co-author of Music Copyright Law which provides in-depth coverage of copyright fundamentals within the music industry, contributing author of Trademark Infringement Remedies which focuses on the fundamentals of trademark law, and author of numerous articles ranging from strategies for success in the industry to funding film projects.

As a Curb College professor, Carr has taught courses on many topics including copyright and contract law, intellectual property and diversity, among others. She is an alumna of Leadership Music.


Wordcountry Publishing Turns Three

WORD Country Logo- (2)Wordcountry, a country division of Word Music Publishing, is celebrating its third anniversary on Monday (Aug. 29). The company is run and operated by Creative Director Janine Appleton, formerly of THiS Music Publishing.

The songwriting roster includes Brice Long, Justin Ebach, Steven Dale Jones, Jason Blaine and Hannah Ellis.

Current cuts include Brett Young’s single “Sleep Without You” (written by Justin Ebach) and Craig Morgan’s “When I’m Gone” and “I’ll Be Home Soon” (written by Ebach and Steven Dale Jones). Canadian singles include Aaron Goodvin’s “Woman in Love” (written by Brice Long) and Jason Blaine “Back to You” (written by Blaine).


Songwriters Gather For Flood Relief Concert

Louisiana Revival poster

A songwriter event called Louisiana Revival will take place Tuesday (Aug. 30) from 7-10 p.m. at Tin Roof on Demonbreun. The suggested donation is $10 and all proceeds will benefit Louisiana Flood Victims.

Confirmed songwriters include: Randy Montana, Tyler Reeve, Trent Willmon, David Borné, Bobby Pinson, Brian Carper, Kevin Gordon, Kalsey Kulyk, Jason Martin, Benjy Davis, Rob Snyder, Lainey Wilson, Hannah Harber, Samantha Leigh, Ross Lipsey, Monty Russell, Chris Canterbury, and Thomas Wynn.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile