Americana Music Association Names Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

Jim Lauderdale

Jim Lauderdale

The Americana Music Association has revealed its 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees. The six recipients are William Bell, Billy Bragg, Shawn Colvin, Woody Guthrie, Jim Lauderdale and Bob Weir.

The honorees will be celebrated at Americana’s 15th Annual Honors & Awards held at the Ryman Auditorium on Sept. 21. The show is part of the 17th annual Americana Music Festival & Conference, held Sept. 20-25 in Nashville.

“These artists have not only influenced the Americana community, but the musical landscape as a whole,” said Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association. “They all have been an inspiration to our community and we are humbled they will honor us in song at the Ryman this fall.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting goes to singer and songwriter William Bell. Billy Bragg is this year’s recipient of the Spirit of Americana Free Speech Award. Shawn Colvin has been named the Trailblazer honoree.

The President’s Award is posthumously awarded to Woody Guthrie. Jim Lauderdale is this year’s WagonMaster recipient. Bob Weir will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement honor in the category of Performer.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile