Brent Cobb Teams With Dave Cobb For ‘Shine On Rainy Day’ Album

Brent Cobb. Photo: Don Van Cleve

Brent Cobb. Photo: Don Van Cleve

Brent Cobb will release his major label debut album, Shine On Rainy Day, on Low Country Sound/Elektra Records on Oct. 7. The project was produced by his cousin, Dave Cobb, who launched Low Country Sound with Elektra Records in 2015.

The project was recorded over four days in Nashville. The lead track, “Solving Problems,” premiered on NPR Music’s Songs We Love series on Thursday (July 14).

Speaking about their collaboration, Brent Cobb said, “It’s not as good as it’s going to get. But if it’s the last thing that I ever do, if I died the day after it came out, then thank God I was able to record it because the songs and the production, it was everything I wanted to say. Finally.”

Dave Cobb added, “I wanted to work with Brent for very selfish reasons. When he lifts a pen and opens his mouth, it sounds like home. I did his record because he’s part of the fabric of South Georgia and the soundtrack to my family. Pure rural country soul filled music.”

Brent Cobb will tour with Anderson East (another Low Country Sound/Elektra Records signing) this fall. He will also appear on Chris Stapleton’s concert at Nashville’s Ascend Amphitheater on Oct. 15.

Born in Ellaville, Georgia (population 1,609), Brent Cobb moved to Nashville in 2008. His songs have been recorded by Luke Bryan (“Tailgate Blues”), Kenny Chesney (“Don’t It”), Miranda Lambert (“Old Shit”), David Nail (“Grandpa’s Farm”), Kellie Pickler (“Rockaway”) and others.

Track List For Brent Cobb’s Shine On Rainy Day

1. “Solving Problems”
2. “South Of Atlanta”
3. “The World”
4. “Diggin’ Holes”
5. “Country Bound”
6. “Traveling Poor Boy”
7. “Shine On Rainy Day”
8. “Let The Rain Come Down”
9. “Down In The Gulley”
10. “Black Crow”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile