Grammy Nominees Revealed: Sam Hunt, Chris Stapleton and More

58th Grammy Logo

Sam Hunt, Chris Stapleton, and Meghan Trainor landed Grammy nominations in major categories on Monday morning (Dec. 7).

Hunt and Trainor will compete for Best New Artist, while Stapleton’s Traveller is up for Album of the Year.

Hunt’s Montevallo and Stapleton’s Traveller are joined by Little Big Town’s Painkiller, Ashley Monroe’s The Blade and Kacey MusgravesPageant Material in the Best Country Album category.

sam hunt montevallo

In addition, “Girl Crush” is nominated in the overall Song of the Year category, an award that is presented to songwriters. Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna and Liz Rose – also known as the Love Junkies — are the writers of “Girl Crush.”

In the category of Best Country Solo Performance, nominees are: Cam’s “Burning House,” Stapleton’s “Traveller,” Carrie Underwood’s “Little Toy Guns,” Keith Urban’s “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16” and Lee Ann Womack’s “Chances Are.”

Nominees for Best Country Duo/Group Performance are: Brothers Osborne’s “Stay a Little Longer,” Joey + Rory’s “If I Needed You,” Charles Kelley, Dierks Bentley and Eric Paslay’s “The Driver,” Little Big Town’s “Girl Crush” and Blake Shelton and Ashley Monroe’s “Lonely Tonight.”

Contenders for Best Country Song are: “Chances Are” (written by Hayes Carll), “Diamond Rings and Old Barstools” (written by Barry Dean, Luke Laird and Jonathan Singleton), “Girl Crush,” “Hold My Hand” (written by Brandy Clark and Mark Stephen Jones), and “Traveller” (written by Chris Stapleton).

Chris Stapleton Traveller

Taylor Swift is nominated in a multitude of categories, including: Album of the Year and Best Pop Vocal Album for 1989; Record of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Pop Solo Performance for “Blank Space”; Best Pop Duo/Group Performance for “Bad Blood,” featuring Kendrick Lamar; and Best Music Video for “Bad Blood.”

Dave Cobb is nominated in the Producer of the Year category. Cobb produced Stapleton’s Traveller, as well as A Thousand Horses’ “Smoke” and Southernality and Jason Isbell‘s Something More Than Free. Also nominated in the Producer of the Year category is Jeff Bhasker, whose credits include Cam’s “Burning House” and “Runaway Train.”

Final-round Grammy ballots will be mailed Dec. 16 and awards will be presented Monday, Feb. 15, 2016, live from STAPLES Center in Los Angeles and broadcast on CBS.

See the full list.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured

About the Author

Craig Shelburne is the General Manager at MusicRow.

View Author Profile