Combustion Music Premieres Uncut Songs

CombustionCombustion Music held its third Songwriter Session Monday evening (Sept. 30) at Nashville’s Belcourt Theatre. The screening event unveiled 10 uncut songs (full list below) to an audience including label executives, publishing executives and songwriters.

Combustion President and Owner Chris Farren welcomed attendees and extended appreciation to Northwestern Mutual and Tacklebox Films alongside Vice President Chris Van Belkom and Creative Director Kenley Flynn. “This video was done in one day at Ocean Way,” said Farren. “It is something we are very proud of, and most of the writers are here.”

Nicole Flamia Produced the piece for Tacklebox, while Ryan Lassan directed and edited the video in an effort to make the publishing company’s copyrights more compelling for major release. The first Songwriter Session achieved four cuts since the video’s release, while the second yielded six cuts from its track listing. After premiering, videos are then individually uploaded to YouTube for additional promotional exposure.

Combustion songwriters including Brett James, Ashley Gorley, Brett Tyler, Kelly Archer, Zach Cromwell, Matt Jenkins, Blair Daly, Jerry Flowers, recently signed Show Dog-Universal duo Native Run (Rachel Beauregard, Bryan Dawley), and Matthew West performed titles alongside co-writers and musicians in the Nashville studio. Vocalists on various tracks included Sarah Buxton, Mickey Guyton, Shane McAnally, Natalie Hemby and Steve Moakler.

Copies of songs were available to attendees on CD as they exited the theatre. Songs are available for listening on Combustion’s Soundcloud.

Combustion Songwriter Sessions Vol. III Track List:
“Sober Sunrise” (Brett James/Steve Moakler/Jessi Alexander)
“Drink It Up” (Ashley Gorley/Phil O’Donnell/Wade Kirby)
“Love On Ya” (Brett Tyler/Lucie Silvas/Eric Snyder/John Osborne)
“Dirt Road Therapy” (Kelly Archer/Zach Crowell/Matt Jenkins)
“Something We Shouldn’t Do” (Jenkins/Shane McAnally/Jimmy Robbins)
“Something Borrowed” (Kelly Archer/Natalie Hemby/Butch Walker)
“Maps Out The Window” (Sarah Buxton/Blair Daly/Nathan Chapman)
“You’re The One” (Jerry Flowers/Kelly Archer/Zach Crowell/Mickey Guyton)
“High Heels and Four Wheels (Native Run/Ryan Hurd)
“Into The Light” (Matthew West/Pete Kipley)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] | @EricTParker

View Author Profile