2014 Country Radio Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Follow MusicRow on Twitter Print This Post Print This Post
• October 2, 2013
Larry Wilson

Larry Wilson

The CRS Board of Directors has announced the 2014 Country Radio Hall of Fame inductees in both the Radio and On-Air categories. The radio inductees are Larry Wilson, Alpha and L&L Broadcasting, and Mike Brophey, WKLB in Boston, Mass. The inductees in the On-Air category are Paul Schadt, WKKT in Charlotte, N.C., and Jim Denny, WFMS in Indianappolis, Ind.

The class of 2014 will be officially inducted at a dinner ceremony on Tuesday, Feb. 18 at 6 p.m. at the Nashville Convention Center. The ceremony unofficially kicks off Country Radio Seminar week each year. CRS 2014 will be held February 19-21. The Country Radio Hall of Fame is dedicated to the recognition of those individuals who have made significant contributions to the radio industry over a 20-year period, 15 of which must be in the Country format.

Paul Schadt

Paul Schadt

“The recognition of these deserving and worthy Hall of Fame inductees represents four unique careers filled with accomplishments, contributions and excellence in advancing Country radio,” said CRS Hall of Fame Chairman RJ Curtis. “And each of our honorees for 2014 are still active and passionately involved with listeners, artists and the music that helps maintain Country radio’s dominance.”

Mike Brophey

Mike Brophey

Wilson is the founder of Citadel Communications. He eventually grew the company to include 205 stations in 42 states before selling it. He returned to radio in 2009, forming Alpha Broadcasting. In 2012, he founded L&L Broadcasting, a company that owns 30 stations across the U.S.

Brophey’s radio career began in 1973. In 1996 he started programming ‘KLB. The station recently achieved its first-ever #1 ranking in Boston, Mass. in August.

Jim Denny

Jim Denny

Since 1981, Schadt has been on the air in Charlotte, N.C. He started out doing mornings at CBS Radio Country, WSOC. After 16 years there, Schadt switched to Clear Channel WKKT for wakeups. He is the longest consecutive on-air personality in Charlotte, N.C. radio history.

Denny has been with the WFMS morning show since 1990. During his time there, The WFMS morning show won CMA Personality of the Year in 2007 and 2009 and ACM Personality of the Year in 2006.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Featured, Radio

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile