Ricky Skaggs, Bruce Hornsby Reunite for Live Album and Tour

Cluck-ol-henRicky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby will release 11 new tracks in a Skaggs Family Records live project titled Cluck Ol’ Heon Aug. 20. The project (track listing below) was originally recorded when the two toured in support of their first collaborative album, Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby (2007) with Skaggs’ Kentucky Thunder band.

Hornsby and Skaggs plan to hit the road for 13 dates this fall on the Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby with Kentucky Thunder Tour in promotion of the forthcoming project (see complete list below).

The pair blends Hornsby’s piano and songwriting to Skaggs’ mandolin, guitar, bass, fiddle and banjo on traditional mountain music and classic Bluegrass represented with three Bill Monroe tunes. Providing the title track is the vintage fiddle tune “Cluck Ol’ Hen.”

Cluck Ol’ Hen is currently available for pre-sale at skaggsfamilyrecords.com. Skaggs’ autobiography is also set to be released the same month.

Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby with Kentucky Thunder 2013 Fall Tour:
Oct. 3 – Carmel, Ind. – The Palladium
Oct. 4 – Cincinnati, Ohio – Taft Theatre
Oct. 5 – Nashville, Tenn. – Ryman Auditorium
Oct. 18 – Los Angeles – Royce Hall – UCLA
Oct. 19 – Scottsdale, Ariz. – Virginia G. Piper Theater
Oct. 20 – Tucson, Ariz. – Fox Tucson Theatre
Oct. 24 – Broken Arrow, Okla. – Broken Arrow Performing Center
Oct.25 – Overland, Kan. – Carlsen Center
Oct. 26 – Salina, Kan. – Stiefel Theatre for the Performing Arts
Nov. 1 – Milwaukee – Potawatomi Bingo Casino
Nov. 2 – Burnsville, Minn. – Burnsville PAC
Nov. 20 – Huntington, N.Y. – The Paramount
Nov. 21 – Morristown, N.J. – Mayo Performing Arts Center

Cluck Ol’ Hen Track Listing:
1.  Intro: How Mountain Girls Can Love
2.  How Mountain Girls Can Love
3.  Intro: Toy Heart
4.  Toy Heart
5.  Intro: Bluegrass Breakdown
6.  Bluegrass Breakdown
7.  Intro: Darling Corey
8.  Darling Corey
9.  The Way It Is
10.  Intro: The Dreaded Spoon
11.  The Dreaded Spoon
12.  Gulf Of Mexico Fishing Boat Blues
13.  Intro: Sally Jo
14.  Sally Jo
15.  Little Maggie
16.  Intro: Little Maggie
17.  White Wheeled Limousine
18.  Intro: Cluck Ol’ Hen
19.  Cluck Ol’ Hen


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Touring

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine, MusicRow.com, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] | @EricTParker

View Author Profile