Eddy Arnold Tribute Album Coming This Spring

Eddy Arnold

Eddy Arnold

A new Eddy Arnold tribute album will be released in time for what would have been his 95th birthday. Cheetah Chrome (originally of punk band The Dead Boys) and author/music historian/Belmont University professor Don Cusic produced the album You Don’t Know Me: Rediscovering Eddy Arnold. It will be released May 14 on Plowboy Records. Arnold would have turned 95 on May 15.

Contributing to the project are Chuck Mead, Melinda Doolittle, Pete Mroz, Frank Black, Mandy Barnett, Bebe Buell, Alejandro Escovedo, Lambchop, Jason Isbell, Chris Scruggs, Pokey LaFarge, Bobby Bare Jr., Peter Noone, Jason Ringenberg, Sylvain Sylvain, The Bluefields, Cheetah Chrome, Drivin’ n Cryin’ and Mary Gauthier.

Many of the tracks were recorded at the Sound Emporium studio, and many others were recorded at famed RCA Studio B, where Arnold often recorded. See a video here.

Known the world over as The Tennessee Plowboy, Eddy Arnold is a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame and the Grand Ole Opry. He released over 100 albums and placed 147 songs on the Billboard country music charts, including 28 No. 1 hits. He had at least one charting single for the past seven straight decades, hosted The Eddy Arnold Show for CBS, guest-hosted Johnny Carson’s Tonight Show and starred in two films.

Plowboy’s founders are Cusic, Chrome, and Arnold’s grandson and musician Shannon Pollard. You Don’t Know Me is the label’s second full-length release, following Bobby Bare’s Darker Than Light.

Alphabetical track list:
“Anytime” – Chuck Mead
“Bouquet of Roses” – Melinda Doolittle
“Cattle Call” – Pete Mroz
“Don’t Rob Another Man’s Castle” – Frank Black
“How’s The World Treating You?” – Mandy Barnett
“I’ll Hold You In My Heart” – Bebe Buell
“It’s A Sin” – Alejandro Escovedo
“Jim, I Wore A Tie Today” – Lambchop
“Johnny Reb, That’s Me” – Jason Isbell
“Just A Little Lovin” – Chris Scruggs
“Love Bug Itch” – Pokey LaFarge
“Make The World Go Away” – Bobby Bare Jr.
“Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue” – Peter Noone
“Texarkana Baby” – Jason Ringenberg
“That Do Make It Nice” – Sylvain Sylvain
“That’s How Much I Love You” – The Bluefields
“What Is Life Without Love” – Cheetah Chrome
“Wreck of Old ’97” – Drivin’ n Cryin’
“You Don’t Know Me” – Mary Gauthier


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile