Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Names New Class

(L-R): Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks, John Bettis, Allen Shamblin and Thom Schuyler

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF) today (8/22) announced this year’s inductees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, with John Bettis, Thom Schuyler and Allen Shamblin joining in the Songwriter category, and Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson being inducted in the Songwriter/Artist category.

They will be honored at the 41st Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony, presented by AT&T, on Sunday, October 16 at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

Bettis’ songwriter credits include pop/country crossover hits such as “Top Of The World” (The Carpenters, Lynn Anderson) and “Slow Hand” (The Pointer Sisters, Conway Twitty). Schuyler’s resume is known for hits such as “Love Will Turn You Around” (Kenny Rogers) and “A Long Line Of Love” (Michael Martin Murphey). Shamblin is the tunesmith behind “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (Bonnie Raitt) and “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert). Brooks popularized many of his own compositions such as “The Thunder Rolls” and “The River.” Jackson created hits from many of his self-penned songs such as “Chattahoochee” and “Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning).” For more biographical info click here.

John Van Mol, chairman of NaSHOF, notes the organization’s board of directors increased the number of inductees this year to five from the traditional three. “These five very talented individuals are among an era of powerhouse writers and artists who propelled country music to unparalleled heights beginning in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and also made substantial contributions to popular and rock music,” he added. “We look forward to a fantastic evening of recognition for our inductees, and great entertainment for all who attend.”

Also at the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner, sister organization Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), presents awards for the year’s best Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, as well as the Top 10 “Songs I Wish I Had Written,” as determined by the professional songwriters division.

Tickets for the event are $200 each. A limited number of seats are available to the public this year and may be purchased by contacting event director Mark Ford at or 615-256-3354.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Tags: ,

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile