Eric Church’s “Chief” Debuts Today

EMI Records Nashville’s Eric Church hangs out with WKKT/Charlotte PD Steve Geofferies following his show at the House of Blues in Myrtle Beach last week.

EMI Records Nashville is releasing Eric Church’s third studio album, Chief today (7/26). Lead single “Homeboy” is already Top 10 on MusicRow’s Country Breakout Chart and the album is getting good early reviews.

Church is celebrating release day with a sold-out show tonight at New York City’s Bowery Ballroom. The event, called “CHIEF: Deconstructed,” will have Church and many of the songwriters from the album sharing stories behind the songs—see writer credits below. Most of the album was written by Church and company when the artist spent a month in a secluded North Carolina cabin.

For Chief, Church once again teamed with producer Jay Joyce, who produced his first two albums. That collaboration has resulted in the Gold certification of his sophomore album Carolina, as well as six Top 20 hits (“How ‘Bout You,” “Two Pink Lines,” “Guys Like Me,” “Love Your Love The Most,” “Hell On The Heart,” and “Smoke A Little Smoke”).

Church, the reigning ACM New Solo Vocalist of the Year, will continue through October on Toby Keith’s Locked and Loaded Tour.

Chief track listing
1. Creepin’ (Eric Church / Marv Green)
2. Drink In My Hand (Eric Church, Michael P. Heeney, Luke Laird)
3. Keep On (Eric Church / Ryan Tyndell)
4. Like Jesus Does (Casey Beathard / Monty Criswell)
5. Hungover & Hard Up (Eric Church / Luke Laird)
6. Homeboy (Eric Church / Casey Beathard)
7. Country Music Jesus (Eric Church / Jeremy Spillman)
8. Jack Daniels (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Lynn Hutton)
9. Springsteen (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Ryan Tyndell)
10. I’m Gettin’ Stoned (Eric Church / Jeff Hyde / Casey Beathard / Jeremy Cradey)
11. Over When It’s Over (Eric Church / Luke Laird)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured, Label

About the Author

Sarah Skates has worked in the music business for more than a decade and is a longtime contributor to MusicRow.

View Author Profile