Music Row Past Award Winners

mrawards20Producer Honor Role
A listing of producers scoring the most top-20 Singles and Top-10 Albums for each year.
1982-89: Jimmy Bowen
1990: Tony Brown
1991-92: Allen Reynolds
1993: Tony Brown
1994: James Stroud
1995: Allen Reynolds
1996: Tony Brown
1997: Wilbur C. Rimes
1998: No Award presented
Becomes Producer of the YearTo honor a producers work on albums active during the awards time period. Can include, but is not limited to, single chart performance and album sales.
1999: Byron Gallimore
2000: Byron Gallimore
2001: Mark Wright
2002: Keith Stegall
2003: James Stroud
2004: Buddy Cannon
2005: Frank Rogers
2006: Dann Huff
2007: Byron Gallimore
2008: Frank Rodgers

Top Songwriters
A listing of writers scoring the most Top-20 Singles for each year.
1985: Troy Seals
1986: Dave Loggins
1987-90: Don Schlitz
1991: Pat Alger
1992: Garth Brooks
1993: Clint Black
1994: Gary Burr
1995: Tom Shapiro
1996: Mark D. Sanders
1997: Craig Wiseman
Becomes Breakthrough Songwriter-Honors a Nashville writer who, for the first time in their career, wrote or co-wrote a top 10 song.
1996: Jim Lauderdale
1997: Cathy Majeski, Sunny Russ, Stephony Smith
1998: Harley Allen
1999: Phil Vassar
2000: Carolyn Dawn Johnson
2001: Troy Verges
2002: Anthony Smith
2003: Lee Thomas Miller
2004: Jim Brown/Don Rollins
2005: Vicky McGehee
2006: Jason Matthews
2007: Chris Tompkins and Josh Kear
2008: Luke Bryan

Song of the Year
1996: “What Mattered Most,: Vince Melamed and Gary Burr; Publishers MCA Music, Patrick Joseph Music
1997: “Friends,” Jerry Holland; Publishers: That’s A Smash Publishing, Mike Curb Music; Performed by John Michael Montgomery
1998: “Something That We Do,” Clint Black and Skip Ewing; Publishers: Blackened Music & Opryland Music Group
1999: “Don’t Laugh At Me,” Allen Shamblin & Steve Seskin; Publishers: Built On Rock Music; David Aaron Music/Love This Town Music (ASCAP)
2000: “He Didn’t Have To Be,” Brad Paisley & Kelley Lovelace; Publishers EMI April Music, Sea Gayle Music, Love Ranch Music
2001: “There Is No Arizona,” Jamie O’Neal, Shaye Smith and Lisa Drew; Publishers EMI Music, Zomba Music
2002: “Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning)” Alan Jackson, Publisher EMI Music Publishing
2003: “Red Ragtop,” Jason White; Publisher Sony/ATV Music
2004: “Almost Home, “Craig Morgan, Kerry Kurt Phillips; Publishers Magic Mustang Music Inc. & Sufferin’ Succotash Songs
2005: “Whiskey Lullaby,” Bill Anderson, John Randall; Publishers by Sony-ATV Tree/Mr. Bubba/Reynsong/Who Ya Say/Wrensong, BMI
2006: “What Hurts The Most,” Jeffrey Steele, Steve Robson; Publishers Songs of Windswept Pacific & Almo Music Corp.
2007: “Stealing Kisses,” Lori McKenna; Publisher Melanie Howard Music, Inc.
2008: “Letter To Me,” Brad Paisley; Publishers EMI April Music/New Sea Gayle Music

Critic’s Pick/New Artist
2000: Eric Heatherly
2001: Mark McGuinn
2002: Blake Shelton
2003: Joe Nichols
2004: Buddy Jewell
2005: Miranda Lambert
2006: Carrie Underwood
2007: Taylor Swift
Becomes Breakthrough ArtistVoted by readers to honor an artist who achieved significant career progress for the first time.
2008: Lady Antebellum

Marketing Achievement
1996: MCA Records for Joe Ely’s Hour At Tower Train Tour
1997: RCA Records for Clint Black’s Greatest Hits
1998: Curb Records for LeAnn Rimes’ “How Do I Live”
1999: RCA Records for Alabama’s For The Record—41 Number One Hits and Monument Records for the Dixie Chick’s Wide Open Spaces
2000: Dreamcatcher Entertainment for Kenny Rogers “The Greatest” and “Buy Me A Rose”
2001: Sony Music Nashville for Billy Gillman, One Voice
2003: Lyric Street Records for Rascal Flatts, Melt
2004: DreamWorks/Sony music for Toby Keith Shock ‘n Yall and Buddy Jewel
2005: none
2006: Lyric Street Records for Rascal Flatts, My And My Gang and Equity Music Group for Little Big Town, The Road To Here (tie)


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist

About the Author

David M. Ross has been covering Nashville's music industry for over 25 years. [email protected]

View Author Profile