Americana Music Association Postpones Honors & Awards Ceremony

The Americana Music Association has postponed its Honors & Awards ceremony, which had been slated to take place Wednesday, Sept. 16 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

Americana Music Association Executive Director Jed Hilly released a statement on Friday (Sept. 11), saying, “despite all our hope, logistical wrangling and passion, we have concluded that it would not be safe to conduct the Americana Honors & Awards at the wonderful and historic Ryman Auditorium next Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2020. We’ve carefully evaluated safety measures both with an audience and without. It is our conclusion that if just one person walked out of the Ryman with COVID-19, we would not be able to forgive ourselves.”

The organization plans to celebrate the nominees and announce the winners later this fall, with details to be announced soon.

This year’s nominees include Brandi Carlile, Brittany Howard, the late John Prine, Tanya Tucker, and Yola all vying for the top honor, Artist of the Year.

Carlile leads this year’s nominations with five, including honors for her work as a producer and writer on Tanya Tucker’s While I’m Livin’ album, and for her work as part of the group The Highwomen. Tucker is nominated for Album of the Year (While I’m Livin’), Artist of the Year, and Song of the Year (“Bring My Flowers Now”). The Highwomen are nominated for Album of the Year, for their self-titled project, produced by Dave Cobb. They are also up for Duo/Group of the Year, as well as Song of the Year (“Crowded Table”). Howard is nominated for Artist of the Year, as well as Album of the Year for both artist and producer for her project Jaime. Her song “Stay High” is also nominated for Song of the Year.

Newcomers Black Pumas earned two nominations for Duo/Group and Emerging Act of the Year. Aubrie Sellers earns two nominations, for Emerging Act of the Year and Song of the Year, for “My Love Will Not Change.” Nathaniel Rateliff earns two nominations, for Album of the Year (And It’s Still Alright), as well as Song of the Year for the album’s title track. Drive-By Truckers also earn two nods, for Duo/Group of the Year, as well as Song of the Year (“Thoughts and Prayers”).

The Americana Music Association does plan to move forward with its Thriving Roots: A Virtual Community Music Conference, which is slated for Sept. 16-18, 2020, and will feature artists including Rosanne CashJohn LeventhalMavis StaplesJackson BrowneRhiannon Giddens, T Bone Burnett, and many others.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile