David Rawlings Announces New Album For August

David Rawlings is set to release his third album, Poor David’s Almanack, on Aug. 11 via Acony Records. The 10-song project was crafted by Ken Scott (Beatles, David Bowie) and Matt Andrews on analog during a week of sessions at Nashville’s legendary Woodland Sound Studios. Rawlings and longtime compatriot Gillian Welch joined together with Willie Watson, Paul Kowert, Brittany Haas, Old Crow Medicine Show’s Ketch Secor, and Taylor and Griffin Goldsmith of Dawes for the new album.

Poor David’s Almanack marks the eighth studio collaboration between Welch and Rawlings, whose creative partnership spans over two decades. The two were honored for their artistry with the Americana Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting in 2015 and the Berklee American Masters Award in 2016.

Rawlings’ band, the all-star Dave Rawlings Machine, will embark on the first leg of a national tour in August to support Poor DavidAlmanack, as well as perform favorites from the first two Dave Rawlings Machine records, A Friend of A Friend and Nashville Obsolete.

Poor DavidAlmanack Track List:
1 Midnight Train
2 Money Is The Meat In The Coconut
3 Cumberland Gap
4 Airplane
5 Lindsey Button
6 Come On Over My House
7 Guitar Man
8 Yup
9 Good God A Woman
10 Put ‘Em Up Solid


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has over 20 years of music business experience and has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at lhollabaugh@musicrow.com.

View Author Profile