Jason Aldean, Darius Rucker, Charles Kelley To Honor Gregg Allman On CMT Music Awards

Responding to the request from artists who wanted to honor Gregg Allman‘s musical legacy, the CMT Music Awards have added a special tribute to Allman featuring Jason Aldean, Darius Rucker and Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley to the upcoming awards telecast on June 7. Additional participating artists will be announced soon.

“Gregg Allman and The Allman Brothers Band helped create the bedrock foundation of modern southern music,” said CMT President Brian Philips. “Over the weekend of his death, CMT’s most important artists reached out to see how we might honor Gregg at our awards. This tribute will celebrate Gregg Allman’s soul, charisma and enduring artistry. ‘The Road Goes On Forever,’ indeed.”

CMT also revealed today that Kelsea Ballerini (who is tied for the most CMT Music Awards nominations) and Little Big Town have been added to the lineup of performers. They join a growing list including a first time TV performance by The Chainsmokers and Florida Georgia Line, a Keith Urban and Carrie Underwood duet, a collaboration from Earth, Wind & Fire and Lady Antebellum, and performances by Blake Shelton, Brett Eldredge, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert and Thomas Rhett.  Show presenters will be announced next week.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile