Allman Brothers Band To Release Live CD From Fox Theater Shows

The Allman Brothers Band is releasing recordings from a set of shows from a sold-out, three-night run they played at Atlanta’s Fox Theater in 2004. The Fox Box will be released digitally March 24 and in stores on April 28 via RED Distribution as an eight-CD set.

The collection features a remastered audio mix and tightening up of the song spacing along with a very unique element: in the 53 songs performed, there is only one repeat, “Dreams,” which is played three times, each with different vocals by the guitar soloists: Derek  Trucks, Warren Haynes and Jack Pearson.

The Allman Brothers Band in 2004 featured founding members Gregg Allman (keyboards, vocals), drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe and percussionist Marc Quinones, guitarists Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks, and bassist Oteil Burbridge. Guitarist Jack Pearson, who was in the band from 1997-99, was a special guest, and other guests include Derek’s bandmate/wife Susan Tedeschi, guitarist Vaylor Trucks (Butch’s son who was captured on the rear cover of Brothers & Sisters as a child) and keyboardist Rob Baracco.

FOX BOX track list:

9/24/04 Disc 1
–Mountain Jam
–Trouble No More
Midnight Rider
–Wasted Words
–Worried Down With The Blues
–You Don’t Love Me

–Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More
Disc 2

–Rockin’ Horse
–Hot ‘Lanta
–Come And Go Blues
–Can’t Love What You Never Had
–Why Does Love Got To Be So Bad?

–Franklin’s Tower
Disc 3

–Black Hearted Woman
–Dreams (with Jack Pearson)
–Mountain Jam (reprise) (with Jack Pearson)

–Southbound (with Jack Pearson)
9/25/04 Disc 1

–Les Brers (Intro)
–Don’t Want You No More  / It’s Not My Cross To Bear
–Statesboro Blues
–Stand Back
–Who’s Been Talking
–Good Clean Fun
–Old Before My Time
–Woman Across The River

–Instrumental Illness
Disc 2

–The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
–Leave My Blues At Home
–Key To The Highway
–Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright (with Susan Tedeschi)
–One Way Out (with Valor Trucks)
–Blue Sky
–Les Brers In A Minor

9/26/04 Disc 1

–Every Hungry Woman
–Done Somebody Wrong
–Hoochie Coochie Man
–High Cost Of Low Living
–44 Blues

–End Of The Line
Disc 2

–I Walk On Gilded Splinters
–Stormy Monday
–The Same Thing (with Rob Baracco)

–In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (with Rob Baracco)
Disc 3

–In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (cont’d, with Rob Baracco)
–Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
–No One To Run With
–Whippin’ Post


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile