Keith Urban Reveals Production, Songwriting Credits Of ‘Ripcord’


Keith Urban‘s eighth album, Ripcord, doesn’t release until May 6, but the project has already produced two No. 1 hits for Urban. “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16” and “Break On Me” were Urban’s 19th and 20th career No. 1 songs.

The new project is the result of one of Urban’s most collaborative processes yet. He calls Ripcord his “most exhilarating album to make, both musically and creatively.”

“This album’s journey began back in January 2015 and took me to a lot of unexplored people and places,” he added. “The end result was the recording and exploring of more songs then I’ve ever done before and carving that down to what I felt constituted Ripcord.”

The 12-track album includes new collaborations with Jeff Bhasker, busbee, Greg Wells and Nile Rodgers, as well as personnel Urban has previously worked with, including Shane McAnally, Ross Copperman, Dann Huff and Nathan Chapman, all of whom worked with Urban on his previous album, Fuse.

“Getting to work with people like this was unlike anything I’ve envisioned before,” said Urban. “It’s the result of writing, reaching, imagining, and following the muse every step of the way.”

Urban will perform his new single, “Wasted Time,” on American Idol on Thursday night (March 31). He will also sing it on the ACM Awards on Sunday. His Ripcord World Tour 2016 will launch on June 2 in Kansas City, Missouri.

Ripcord Track Listing

“Gone Tomorrow (Here Today)”
Written by Jeff Bhasker, Samuel Tyler Johnson, Keith Urban
Co-Produced By Jeff Bhasker, Tyler Johnson & Keith Urban

“John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16”
Written by Shane McAnally, Ross Copperman, Josh Osborne
Co-Produced by Dann Huff & Keith Urban

“Wasted Time”
Written by Greg Wells, J Hart, Keith Urban
Co-Produced by Greg Wells & Keith Urban

“Habit Of You”
Written by K-Kov, Jackson Morgan
Co-Produced by K-Kov & Keith Urban

“Sun Don’t Let Me Down”
Written by Nile Rodgers, busbee, Armando Christian Perez, Keith Urban
Co-Produced by Nile Rodgers, busbee & Keith Urban

“Getting In The Way”
Written by Emily Weisband, Jordan Reynolds, David Hodges
Co-Produced by Dann Huff & Keith Urban

“Blue Ain’t Your Color”
Written by Steven Lee Olsen, Hillary Lindsey, Clint Lagerberg
Co-Produced by Dann Huff & Keith Urban

“The Fighter”
Written by busbee, Keith Urban
Co-Produced by busbee & Keith Urban

“Break On Me”
Written by Jon Nite, Ross Copperman
Co-Produced by Nathan Chapman & Keith Urban

“Your Body”
Written by busbee, Keith Urban
Co-Produced by busbee & Keith Urban

“That Could Still Be Us”
Written by Jason Duke, Jesse Lee, Jonathan Price
Co-Produced by Jonny Price & Keith Urban

“Worry ‘Bout Nothin’”
Written by Chris Tompkins, Rodney Clawson, Josh Kear
Co-Produced by Dann Huff & Keith Urban




Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile