NSAI Celebrates Chart-Topping Songwriters

Songwriters with their No. 1 plaques.

Songwriters with their No. 1 plaques.

The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) honored Nashville-associated writers whose songs topped the Billboard Airplay, Digital or Hot charts between April 2015 and July 2015 yesterday evening (Monday, Sept. 14). There were 83 songwriters and 20 songs recognized.

The Maggie Cavender award was also presented to Jo Walker-Meador, Layng Martine, Jr. and the late Billy Block. Block’s wife, Jill Block, received the award on his behalf. This is the first time NSAI has presented three recipients with the Maggie Cavender Award within the same year. The NSAI #1 Party was held at the Music Mill, NSAI’s headquarters on Music Row.

The NSAI #1 Party was sponsored by Klindt, Cole & Associates of Merrill Lynch Private Banking and Investment Group.

Pictured (L-R): Lee Thomas Miller, Jo Walker Meador, and Bart Herbison.

Pictured (L-R): Lee Thomas Miller, Jo Walker-Meador, and Bart Herbison.

Songs Recognized:
“Homegrown Honey,” Darius Rucker, Charles Kelley, Nathan Chapman, recorded by Darius Rucker
“Because He Lives (Amen),” Daniel Carson, Ed Cash, Bill Gaither, Gloria Gaither, Jason Ingram, Matt Maher, Chris Tomlin, recorded by Matt Maher
“Soul On Fire,” Tai Anderson, Brenton Brown, David Carr, Mark Lee, Matt Maher, Mac Powell, recorded by Third Day
“Take Your Time,” Sam Hunt, Josh Osborne, Shane McAnally, recorded by Sam Hunt
“Say You Do,” Matt Ramsey, Shane McAnally, Trevor Rosen, recorded by Dierks Bentley
“Drinkin Class,” Josh Kear, David Frasier, Ed Hill, recorded by Lee Brice
“Raise ‘Em Up,” Jaren Johnston, Tom Douglas, Jeffrey Steele, recorded by Keith Urban f/ Eric Church
“A Guy Walks Into A Bar” Melissa Peirce, Jonathan Singleton and Brad Tursi, recorded by Tyler Farr
“Don’t It,” Jaren Johston, Ashley Gorley, Ross Copperman, recorded by Billy Currington
“Smoke,” Michael Hobby, Ross Copperman, Jon Nite, recorded by A Thousand Horses
“Sippin’ On Fire,” Cole Taylor, Matt Dragstrem, Rodney Clawson, recorded by Florida Georgia Line
“Shoulders,” Ben Glover, Joel Smallbone, Luke Smallbone, recorded by for King & Country
“Wild Child,” Josh Osborne, Kenny Chesney, Shane McAnally, recorded by Kenny Chesney w/ Grace Potter
“Love Me Like You Mean It,” Forest Glen Whitehead, Josh Kerr, Kelsea Ballerini, Lance Carpenter, recorded by Kelsea Ballerini
“Sangria,” Josh Osborne, JT Harding, Trevor Ronsen, recorded by Blake Shelton
“Little Toy Guns,” Carrie Underwood, Chris DeStefano, Hillary Lindsey, recorded by Carrie Underwood
“Love You Like That,” Brett Beavers, Canaan Smith, Jim Beavers, recorded by Canaan Smith
“Tonight Looks Good On You,” Ashley Gorley, Dallas Davidson, Rhett Akins, recorded by Jason Aldean
“Girl Crush,” Lori McKenna, Liz Rose, Hillary Lindsey, recorded by Little Big Town


Pictured (L-R): Lee Thomas Miller, Layng Martine, Jr., and Bart Herbison


Jill Block with sons Rocky and Grady Block, receiving the Maggie Cavender Award on behalf of the late Billy Block.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Publishing

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile