Artist Updates: AmericanaFest, Phil Vassar, Jimmy Fortune, Dove Awards

Americana Music Association Adds To AmericanaFest Lineup

unnamed-1The Americana Music Association unveiled an additional 30+ artists to its 16th annual AmericanaFest lineup this week.

The festival will offer more than 170 official showcases across more than a dozen Music City venues including newly announced performances by Glen Hansard, Jewel, Hot Rize featuring Red Knuckles and the Trailblazers, Jay Farrar (performing songs from Son Volt’s “Trace”), Buddy Miller & Marc Ribot, JD McPherson, Parker Millsap, Joel Rafael, Nellie Clay, Madisen Ward & The Mama Bear and the Watkins Family Hour.

The 2015 AmericanaFest will take place Sept. 15-20 in Nashville.


Phil Vassar Teams With Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals

Phil Vassar 2015

Phil Vassar

Country singer/songwriter Phil Vassar is showing his support of the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals with an official CMN Hospitals’ Miracle Band. By wearing this wristband, Vassar has joined celebrity spokeswoman Jennifer Lopez along with Lady Antebellum and Sir Paul McCartney, in showing a commitment to give kids every chance to live better and support the organization’s work and the families affected by childhood illness.

“I have two beautiful daughters and I can’t image my life without them,” says Vassar. “There are children all over the world who are suffering because they don’t have the resources to get the help they need. I’m so glad to be a part of this.”


Jimmy Fortune To Release ‘Hits & Hymns’

unnamed-3Country Music Hall of Fame singer-songwriter Jimmy Fortune will unveil some unique collaborations on his upcoming album, Hits & Hymns, out Oct. 23 on Gaither Music Group. Vince Gill, The Isaacs, Dailey & Vincent, The Oak Ridge Boys, Ricky Skaggs, the Gaither Vocal Band and The Whites have all recorded for the project.

The album coincides with a special edition DVD, Jimmy Fortune: Hits & Hymns, hosted by Bill Gaither.


Erica Campbell, Sadie Robertson To Host Dove Awards

Erica Campbell

Erica Campbell

Sadie Robertson

Sadie Robertson

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) has announced that singer-songwriter Erica Campbell, the five-time Grammy winner and WEtv star of the hit show “Mary Mary,” and New York Times best-selling author Sadie Robertson as the co-hosts for the 46th Annual GMA Dove Awards.

The Dove Awards will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 13, live from Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University in Nashville, and will air exclusively on the Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday, Oct. 18 at 9 p.m. CT.

Additionally, the Song and Songwriter of the Year categories were announced.

Songwriter of the Year (Artist)
Bart Millard
Chris Tomlin
Lecrae Moore
Matt Maher
Phil Wickham

Songwriter of the Year (Non-Artist)
Benjamin Glover
David Arthur Garcia
Dianne Wilkinson
Jason Ingram
Seth Mosley

Song of the Year 
“Come As You Are” – Crowder (writers) Ben Glover, David Crowder, Matt Maher
“Greater” – MercyMe (writers) Barry Graul, Bart Millard, Ben Glover, David Garcia, Mike Scheuchzer, Nathan Cochran, Robby Shaffer
“He Knows My Name” – Francesca Battistelli (writers) Francesca Battistelli, Mia Fieldes, Seth Mosley
“Hope In Front Of Me” – Danny Gokey (writers) Bernie Herms, Brett James, Danny Gokey
“How Can It Be” – Lauren Daigle (writers) Jason Ingram, Jeff Johnson, Paul Mabury
“Multiplied” – NEEDTOBREATHE (writers) Bear Rinehart, Bo Rinehart
“Overwhelmed” – Big Daddy Weave (writers) Michael Weaver, Phil Wickham
“This Is Amazing Grace” – Phil Wickham (writers) Jeremy Riddle, Josh Farro, Phil Wickham
“Thrive” – Casting Crowns (writers) Mark Hall, Matthew West
“We Believe” – Newsboys (writers) Matthew Hooper, Richie Fike, Travis Ryan



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at

View Author Profile