BREAKING NEWS: ACM Awards Nominations Revealed


Entertainer of the Year Nominees

The Academy of Country Music began revealing the final nominees this morning (Friday, Jan. 30) for the 50th Academy of Country Music Awards, via its social media outlets.

Miranda Lambert is this year’s leading nominee, with eight nominations, including an Entertainer of the Year nod. She picked up her ninth nomination for Female Vocalist of the Year; she is the current record holder for the most consecutive wins in that category.

Dierks Bentley received seven nominations, followed Florida Georgia Line with five nominations. Eric Church, Luke Bryan and Kenny Chesney each earned four nominations, while Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean and Kacey Musgraves earned three apiece.

Rounding out the coveted Entertainer of the Year category are Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Florida Georgia Line, and legendary entertainer Garth Brooks. Brooks holds the record for the most number of wins in this category. If he wins, it will mark his seventh Entertainer win. This also marks the first Entertainer nomination for Florida Georgia Line.

Dierks Bentley cements his first Single Record of the Year and Video of the Year nominations, both for “Drunk On A Plane.” He is also up for Vocal Event of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year (for Riser), and is nominated twice in the Song of the Year category for “I Hold On,” as both songwriter and artist.

First-time ACM nominees this year include Jaren Johnston (two nominations: Album of the Year, producer for Dierks Bentley’s Riser and Vocal Event of the Year, for “The South”), Chris Stapleton (nominated as a songwriter in the Song of the Year category for “Drink A Beer”), Brothers Osborne (Vocal Duo of the Year), Maddie & Tae (Vocal Duo of the Year), The Cadillac Three (Vocal Event of the Year for “The South”), and The Swon Brothers ( Vocal Duo of the Year).

The awards show will take place April 19 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan return to co-host the event.

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Florida Georgia Line

Vocal Event of the Year
Lonely Tonight – Blake Shelton Featuring Ashley Monroe, Producer: Scott Hendricks, Record Label: Warner Bros. Records
Meanwhile Back At Mama’s – Tim McGraw Featuring Faith Hill,  Producers: Byron Gallimore, Tim McGraw, Record Label: Big Machine Records
Somethin’ Bad – Miranda Lambert Duet With Carrie Underwood, Producers: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf, Record Label: RCA Nashville
The South – The Cadillac Three Featuring Florida Georgia Line, Dierks Bentley & Mike Eli, Producers: Dann Huff, Justin Niebank, Record Label: Big Machine Records
This Is How We Roll – Florida Georgia Line Featuring Luke Bryan, Producer: Joey Moi, Record Label: Republic Nashville

Video of the Year
American Kids – Kenny Chesney. Director: Shaun Silva, Producer: Don Lepore
Cop Car – Keith Urban, Director: John Urbano, Producer: Michelle Abnet
Drunk On A Plane – Dierks Bentley, Director: Wes Edwards, Producer: Clarke Gallivan
I’m Not Gonna Miss You – Glen Campbell, Director: James Keach, Producer: Julian Raymond
Somethin’ Bad – Miranda Lambert Duet With Carrie Underwood, Director: Trey Fanjoy, Producer: Trent Hardville

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Male Vocalist of the Year (tie)
Jason Aldean
Dierks Bentley
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Brad Paisley
Blake Shelton

Female Vocalist of the Year
Brandy Clark
Miranda Lambert
Martina McBride
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
The Swon Brothers

New Artist of the Year (currently open for fan voting)
Brett Eldredge
Tyler Farr
Sam Hunt
Kip Moore
Thomas Rhett
Chase Rice
Cole Swindell
Dan + Shay

Album of the Year

Old Boots, New Dirt, Jason Aldean
Producer: Michael Knox
Record Label: Broken Bow Records

Pain Killer, Little Big Town
Producer: Jay Joyce
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

Platinum, Miranda Lambert
Producers: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf
Record Label: RCA Nashville

Riser, Dierks Bentley
Producers: Ross Copperman, Jaren Johnston
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

The Outsiders, Eric Church
Producer: Jay Joyce
Record Label: EMI Records Nashville

Single Record of the Year (awarded to artist/producers/record company)

“American Kids” Kenny Chesney
Producers: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney
Record Label: Blue Chair Records/Columbia Nashville

“Automatic” Miranda Lambert
Producers: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf
Record Label: RCA Nashville

“Dirt” Florida Georgia Line
Producer: Joey Moi
Record Label: Republic Nashville

“Drunk On A Plane” Dierks Bentley
Producer: Ross Copperman
Record Label: Capitol Records Nashville

“I Don’t Dance” Lee Brice
Producer: Lee Brice
Record Label: Curb Records

Song of the Year (awarded to songwriters/publishers/artists)
American Kids – Kenny Chesney, Songwriters: Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally
Publishers: Big Red Toe Music (BMI), Creative Nation Music (BMI), Farm Town Songs (BMI), Smack Ink (ASCAP), Songs Of Universal, Inc. (BMI), Twangin And Slangin Songs (BMI), Universal Music Corporation (ASCAP)

Automatic – Miranda Lambert, Songwriters: Nicolle Galyon, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert
Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music, Inc. (BMI), Pink Dog Publishing (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI), Wruckestrike (BMI)

Drink A Beer – Luke Bryan, Songwriters: Jim Beavers, Chris Stapleton
Publishers: House of Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), WB Music Corp. (ASCAP)

Follow Your Arrow – Kacey Musgraves
Songwriters: Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves
Publishers: 351 Music (BMI), Highway 508 Songs (ASCAP), House of Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), Smack Ink (ASCAP), Universal Music Corporation (ASCAP), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

Give Me Back My Hometown – Eric Church
Songwriters: Eric Church, Luke Laird
Publishers: Creative Nation Music (BMI), Longer And Louder Music (BMI), Songs Of Universal, Inc. (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), Twangin And Slangin Songs (BMI)

I Hold On – Dierks Bentley
Songwriters: Dierks Bentley, Brett James
Publishers: Atlas Holdings (ASCAP), Big White Tracks (ASCAP), External Combustion Music (ASCAP), Songs of Brett (ASCAP), WB Music Corp. (ASCAP)

Radio category nominations and the Songwriter of the Year nominees were previously announced Thursday, Jan. 29.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter


Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile