Lawrence Receives ASCAP’s Sammy Cahn Award


Pictured (L-R): ASCAP’s LeAnn Phelan and Sandy Lawrence

For the past 18 years, The ASCAP Foundation has celebrated the life of former Board member Sammy Cahn with its Sammy Cahn Award, presented annually to a promising songwriter. This year’s recipient is Nashville-based ASCAP member Sandy Emory Lawrence, who won for her song “The Pretty One.”

Lawrence lives in Franklin, Tenn. and cites musical influences including Bob Wills, Roger Miller, Broadway’s My Fair Lady, Joni Mitchell, Carole King, The Eagles, John Lennon, Paul McCartney and Emmylou Harris, among others.

Lawrence previously won a Kerrville songwriting award in 1988 and has released an album titled The Hammer Lands. Additionally, she performed alongside Joey + Rory at the Grand Ole Opry in 2013. More recently, ASCAP included Lawrence in its Nashville’s Guidance from Publishers for Songwriters (GPS) Project, which introduced her to Nashville’s publishing community.

Previous winners of the Sammy Cahn award include John Mayer, Josh Ritter, Lori McKenna, Daniel Mackenzie, Chris Keup, Cinco Paul, John Francis and Katie Herzig. For more information, visit


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Michael Smith is the Operations Manager at MusicRow Enterprises, where he works in the sales and editorial departments, and manages MusicRow's CountryBreakout Chart. He holds a BA from Vanderbilt University. Please send feedback to

View Author Profile