Suzy Bogguss’ ‘Lucky’ Mines Haggard Gems

Suzy Bogguss

Suzy Bogguss

Suzy Bogguss named her very first CD, 1989’s Somewhere Between, after an early Merle Haggard song, so it’s no surprise that the professed Haggard fan elected to wade deep into Haggard’s pool of songs for her latest CD, Lucky. The new collection features 12 Haggard gems performed acoustically by the singer/songwriter, who didn’t originally set out to make a Haggard tribute.

“He really is the poet of the common man,” says Bogguss. “Not every artist has music that is as universal as Merle’s. It’s pretty heavy-duty stuff, and I think that’s why to so many of us who sing and write songs, he’s such a king among us.”

The new CD, which features Haggard classics like “Silver Wings,” “If We Make It Through December,” and “I Think I’ll Just Stay Here And Drink,” is due out Feb. 4, 2014.

“Lucky” track listing:
1. Today I Started Loving You Again
2. Silver Wings
3. The Bottle Let Me Down
4. I Always Get Lucky With You
5. If We Make It Through December
6. Let’s Chase Each Other Around The Room
7. The Running Kind
8. Going Where The Lonely Go
9. Someday When Things Are Good
10. I Think I’ll Just Stay Here and Drink
11. Sing Me Back Home
12. You Don’t Have Very Far To Go


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile