NAB’s Marconi Awards Recognize Outstanding Country Stations

images-2The 2013 Marconi Awards were handed out last night in Orlando at the NAB’s Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show. Finalists were selected by a committee of broadcasters, and winners were voted on by the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy. The Marconi Radio Awards were established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi. The Mavericks performed at this year’s event, which recognized some of radio’s outstanding players over the last year.

MusicRow reporting station WKDZ-FM Cadiz, Ky. has been crowned the Small Market Station of the Year at the 2013 National Association of Broadcasters’ Marconi Radio Awards. The distinguished awards recognize radio’s outstanding personalities and stations. To offer congratulations and learn more about WKDZ, contact the station’s general manager Beth Mann at [email protected].

Winners of the 2013 NAB Marconi Radio Awards:

Small Market Station of the Year: Ham Broadcasting WKDZ – Cadiz, KY
Small Market Personality of the Year: Monk & Kelly, Cookeville Communications WGSQ-FM  – Cookeville, Tenn.
Large Market Personality of the Year: Cornbread, Hubbard Wil-FM – St. Louis, Mo.
Country Station of the Year: Cox Media Group KKQB – Houston

A full list of winners from the evening can be found at


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Awards, Featured, Radio

About the Author

Hollabaugh, a staff writer at MusicRow magazine, has written for publications including American Profile, CMA Close Up, Nashville Arts And Entertainment, The Boot and Country Weekly. She has a Broadcast Journalism and Speech Communication degree from Texas Christian University, (go Horned Frogs), and welcomes your feedback or story ideas at [email protected]

View Author Profile