Haun, Tomlin, Redman Lead 44th Annual Dove Awards Nominations

Dove-Logo-2013Producer/songwriter Wayne Haun leads the 44th Annual Dove Awards nominations with 15 nods; artists Chris Tomlin and Matt Redman are nominated for nine awards each.

The awards nominations were announced Wednesday morning (Aug. 21) at Nashville’s Lipscomb University. The press conference was hosted by several nominees and Christian music industry members, including Francesca Battistelli, Jason Crabb, Dailey and Vincent, James Fortune, Mandisa, Rhett Walker, Tenth Avenue North, Lady Shaunte of 760AM The Gospel, Les Butler of Solid Gospel 105FM, Nashville’s 94FM The Fish Doug Griffin and Jaci Velasquez as well as other industry leaders.

Ben Glover, The Isaacs and The Gaither Vocal Band follow closely in the nominations rankings, with eight nominations apiece.

The evening’s most prestigious award, Artist of the Year, includes nominees Tomlin, Lecrae, Tamela Mann, Francesca Battistelli and TobyMac. Meanwhile, Haun, Glover and Redman are all nominated in the Songwriter of the Year category, along with Benji Cowart and Toby McKeehan.

Capital Kings, Colton Dixon, for King and Country, Rhett Walker Band and Tasha Cobbs are all nominated for New Artist of the Year.

The Gospel Music Association’s 44th annual award show will return to Nashville on Oct. 15, after being held for two years in Atlanta.

A partial list of nominees is listed below; for a full list of awards nominees, visit doveawards.com

Artist of the Year
Chris Tomlin, sixstepsrecords
Francesca Battistelli, Word Label Group
Lecrae, Reach Records
Tamela Mann, TillyMann
TobyMac, ForeFront Records

Songwriter of the Year
Ben Glover
Benji Cowart
Matt Redman
Toby McKeehan
Wayne Haun

Song of the Year
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)”, Matt Redman, (writers) Matt Redman, Jonas Myrin
“All I Can Do (Thank You)”, Mikeschair, (writers) Mike Grayson,  Ben Glover, David Garcia
“Break Every Chain”, Tasha Cobbs, (writer) Will Reagan
“Forgiveness”, Matthew West, (writer) Matthew West
“From My Rags To His Riches”, Devin McGlamery featuring Dailey & Vincent, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey
“Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored”, Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Larry Gatlin, Bill Gaither
“Hold On”, Canton Junction, (writer) Gerald Crabb
“I’m Learning”, Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Lee Black, Michael Fordinal, Kenna West
“Live Like That”, Sidewalk Prophets, (writers) Dave Fray, Ben McDonald, Ben Glover
“Need You Now (How Many Times)”, Plumb, (writers) Tiffany Arbuckle Lee, Luke Sheets, Christa Wells
“Not For a Moment (After All)”, Meredith Andrews, (writers) Meredith Andrews, Jacob Sooter, Mia Fieldes
“One Thing Remains”, Kristian Stanfill, (writers) Brian Johnson, Christa Black Gifford, Jeremy Riddle
“Redeemed”, Big Daddy Weave, (writers) Mike Weaver, Benji Cowart
“Sometimes I Wonder”, Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey
“Take Him To The Place”, Aaron & Amanda Crabb, (writers) Aaron Crabb, Amanda Crabb
“Take Me to the King”, Tamela Mann, (writer) Kirk Franklin
“The Proof of Your Love”, for King and Country, (writers) Joel Smallbone, Fred Williams, Luke Smallbone, Ben Glover, Mia Fieldes, Johnathan Lee
“What The Blood Is For”, Jason Crabb, (writers) Ronnie Freeman, Tony Wood
“Where I Belong”, Building 429, (writers) Jason Roy, Jason Ingram
“Whom Shall I Fear (God of Angel Armies)”, Chris Tomlin, (writers) Chris Tomlin, Ed Cash, Scott Cash
“Why Can’t We”, The Isaacs, (writers) Rebecca Isaacs Bowman, Sonya Isaacs, Jimmy Yeary

Contemporary Christian Performance of the Year
“10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord),” Matt Redman
“Need You Now (How Many Times),” Plumb
“Redeemed,” Big Daddy Weave
“The Dream,” David Phelps
“The Proof of Your Love,” for King & Country
“Where I Belong,” Building 429

Southern Gospel Performance of the Year
“Glorious Freedom,” The Gaither Vocal Band
“Sometimes I Wonder,” Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, StowTown Records, (producer) Wayne Haun
“Stubborn (Psalm 15),” Michael English, Curb Records, (producer) Jay DeMarcus
“What The Blood Is For,” Jason Crabb, Gaither Music Group, (producers) Jay DeMarcus, Ed Cash, Wayne Haun
“Why Can’t We,” The Isaacs,  Gaither Music Group, (producer) Ben Isaacs

Gospel Performance of the Year
“Awesome,” Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Chicago, EMI,(producer) Rick Robinson
“Break Every Chain,” Tasha Cobbs, EMI,(producer) VaShawn Mitchell
“It’s Not Over (When God Is In It),” Israel & New Breed (feat: James Fortune & Jason Nelson), Integrity/Columbia
“Let The Church Say Amen,” Andrae Crouch (feat: Marvin Winans), Riverphlo
“Take Me to the King,” Tamela Mann, TillyMann Music Group, (producers) Myron Butler, David Mann, Tamela Mann

New Artist of the Year
Capital Kings, Gotee Records
Colton Dixon, Sparrow Records
for King and Country, Word Label Group
Rhett Walker Band, Essential Records
Tasha Cobbs, EMI Gospel


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Jessica Nicholson serves as the Managing Editor for MusicRow magazine. Her previous music journalism experience includes work with Country Weekly magazine and Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) magazine. She holds a BBA degree in Music Business and Marketing from Belmont University. She welcomes your feedback at [email protected]

View Author Profile