Album Details Released for Natalie Maines’ Forthcoming Solo Project

Follow MusicRow on Twitter Print This Post Print This Post
• February 8, 2013
Natalie Maines

Natalie Maines

Columbia Records has released an official track listing for Dixie Chicks frontwoman Natalie Maines’ forthcoming May 7 rock album, Mother.

The lead single, Pink Floyd cover and title track is currently available on the soundtrack, West of Memphis: Voices for Justice, to the documentary film West of Memphis.

“I wanted this music to be very different from the Dixie Chicks,” said Maines. “Lots of albums by lead singers might just as well have been made by the band, but I think this is very different from anything the Chicks could make. That separation and distinction was important.”

A full track listing for the Maines- and Ben Harper-produced album is below, including “Free Life,” a song written by Dan Wilson. Maines’ Dixie Chicks partners Martie Maguire and Emily Robison offered writing credits for “Come Cryin’ to Me.” “That was a song we decided was too rock for [the Dixie Chicks’ 2006 album] Taking the Long Way,” Maines explains, “but it really felt right to have a piece of them on here.”

All of the album’s 10 songs were recorded in Harper’s studio. For more information, visit

The Dixie Chicks are expected to unite for multiple Canadian concert dates booked this summer.

Mother, track listing:
1. Without You
2. Mother
3. Free Life
4. Silver Bell
5. Lover You Should’ve Come Over
6. Vein in Vain
7. Trained
8. Come Cryin’ To Me
9. I’d Run Away
10. Take It On Faith



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] @EricTParker

View Author Profile