Rewind: 2012 MusicRow Events

MusicRow looks back on its 2012 events including the MusicRow Chart Annual Airplay Awards during CRS, the inaugural Rising Women On The Row breakfast and the reader-voted MusicRow Awards.


The 10th Annual MusicRow Chart Awards were presented during the unofficial kick-off event to CRS in February. This year’s 2012 Awards honored Brad Paisley, Thompson Square, Eric Lee Beddingfield, Capitol Records Nashville and Jim Quinton, Program Director for WPPL/Blue Ridge, Ga. The event featured performances by JT Hodges, The McClymonts and Marlee Scott, with a special appearance from Joanna Smith.

(L-R): Jon Freeman, Gary Overton, Brad Paisley, Sherod Robertson, and Lesly Tyson

(L-R): Jon Freeman, Steve Hodges, Shane Allen, John Trapane, Diane Lockner, Brent Jones, Sherod Robertson. Photo: Isabel Ross.

Thompson Square


MusicRow’s inaugural Rising Women On The Row event honored five women from different segments of Nashville’s music industry during a sold-out breakfast last March. The honors were created to recognize women who are quickly becoming visionary leaders in Nashville’s music industry through their dedication, innovation and contributions. The 2012 honorees were The Greenroom’s Mary Hilliard Harrington, SESAC’s Shannan Hatch, Loeb & Loeb’s Denise Stevens, Sony Music Nashville’s Heather McBee and Big Yellow Dog’s Carla Wallace. Journalist and women’s advocate Kay West served as guest speaker.

(L-R): Sarah Skates, Shannan Hatch, Sherod Robertson, Mary Hilliard Harrington, Heather McBee, and Denise Stevens. Not pictured: honoree Carla Wallace.

(L-R): Sherod Robertson, Kay West, David Ross


The 24th annual MusicRow Awards were presented in front of a packed house at BMI in June. The event honored recipients of our reader-voted awards including Eli Young Band (Breakthrough Artist); Johnny Bulford and Phil Barton (Breakthrough Songwriter); Matraca Berg and Deana Carter with publishers UMPG and Warner/Chappell (Song of the Year for “You and Tequila”) and Frank Liddell (Producer of the Year). Additionally, Top Ten Album All-Star Musicians were recognized for appearing on the most album credits during the year.

Eli Young Band’s Mike Eli and Jon Jones.

MusicRow Awards Attendees fill BMI Nashville’s Lobby. Photo: Isabel Ross

(L-R): Sherod Robertson, Warner/Chappell’s Alicia Pruitt, Matraca Berg, publisher Pat Higdon, UMPG’s Kent Earls and Cyndi Forman.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] | @EricTParker

View Author Profile