Americana Board Announces Business Operation Changes

Follow MusicRow on Twitter Print This Post Print This Post
• August 6, 2012

The Americana Music Association Board of Directors has announced changes to business operations including the announcement of its Executive Committee; selection of a new accounting firm; a new leadership ascension plan and changes to bylaws to allow for Board appointments.

Brad Paul (Rounder Records) has been named Board President; artist manager Holly Lowman, President-elect; Sylvia Giannitrapani, (Formerly with Ryko Distribution) Secretary; two at large Executive Committee members are Jessie Scott (Music Fog) and Amanda Hale-Ornelas (New West Records). The Association has selected KV Associates, as its new accounting firm and Kurt Vitolo, Founder and President, will serve as Treasurer on the Board Executive Committee as well. Executive Committee positions are held for one-year terms.

The Association’s executive transition structure will elect a President-elect each year. The President-elect becomes the President the following year and then serves a third term as Past-President. Effective for 2013, Lowman will assume the position of President of the Americana Music Board of Directors, becoming the third woman to hold the position and the youngest President in the Association’s 13 year history. Paul will serve as Past-President in 2013 in order to offer guidance and a sense of continuum in leadership.

“In the past our election process has provided the AMA Board with exceptional talent.” said Paul, “but with this new change to our bylaws, the board has the ability to fill specific needs that our old structure did not address.”

The Association’s first appointed Board Members include Vitolo, and Mark Moffatt, who will serve as chair of the Americana International Marketing Committee.

Currently, the Board of Directors consists of industry representatives both elected by the Americana Music Association membership and appointed by the Board. Each elected Director holds his seat for a two-year term. Each appointed Director holds their seat for one year.

The current 2012 Americana Music Association Board of directors includes:
John Allen (Bug Music)
Bob Benckert (Alternate Root)
Ashley Capps (AC Entertainment)
Rodney Crowell (Artist)
Tim Fink (SESAC)
Mary Gauthier (Artist)
Sylvia Giannitrapani (Village Real Estate)
Todd Ohlhauser (Mercy Lounge)
Amanda Hale-Ornelas (New West Records)
Wayne Halper (Attorney)
Joan Kornblith (Voice Of America)
Terry Lickona (Austin City Limits)
Holly Lowman (Ramseur Records)
Tim McFadden (Tenacity Records)
Buddy Miller (Artist)
Al Moss (Al Moss Promotion)
Brad Paul (Rounder Records)
Jessie Scott (Music Fog)
Emilee Warner (Crash Avenue)
Mark Moffatt (Producer)
Kurt Vitolo (KV Financial Services)

The Americana Music Association will celebrate the genre’s annual fundraiser including the 11th Annual Americana Honors & Awards, September 12 -15 in Nashville. For more information including showcase and conference schedules, click here.



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Featured, Organizations

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] @EricTParker

View Author Profile