Crabb Takes Top Honor at 43rd Annual GMA Awards

Natalie Grant and Jason Crabb

The 43rd Annual Gospel Music Association Dove Awards were held yesterday evening (4/19) at Atlanta’s Fox Theater. The event will be broadcast on television Tues., April 24 at 8 pm ET on GMC.

Jason Crabb took the evening’s highest honor with his Artist of the Year win, in addition to winning Male Vocalist. Natalie Grant took home her fifth Female Vocalist win, and NEEDTOBREATHE earned three honors, including Group of the Year.

Comedian Chonda Pierce and actor David Mann from Tyler Perry’s sitcom Meet the Browns co-hosted the show, which featured performances from Grant, Ruben Studdard, Mandisa, Yolanda Adams, and a special tribute to Whitney Houston with Karen Peck performing Dottie Rambo’s “I Go To The Rock.”

Full List of Winners:

Song of the Year – Blessings; Laura Story; Laura Story; New Spring Publishing (ASCAP), Gleaning Publishing (ASCAP)

Male Vocalist of the Year – Jason Crabb

Female Vocalist of the Year – Natalie Grant

Group of the Year – NEEDTOBREATHE

Artist of the Year – Jason Crabb

New Artist of the Year – Jamie-Grace

Producer of the Year – Ed Cash

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year – Hallelujah; Rehab Deluxe Edition; Lecrae; LeCrae Moore, Charles Cornelius, Joseph Prielozny, Nelson Chu; Reach Records

Rock Recorded Song of the Year – Dark Horses; Vice Verses; Switchfoot; Jonathan Foreman, Tim Foreman; Credential Recordings/lowercasepeople/Atlantic

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year – Slumber; The Reckoning; NEEDTOBREATHE; Bear Rinehart, Bo Rinehart; Atlantic Records

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year – Blessings; Blessings; Laura Story; Laura Story; Fair Trade Services, LLC

Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year – Hope Of The Broken World; Hope Of The Broken World; Selah; Carl Cartee, Jennie Riddle; Curb

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year – Celebrate Me Home; Blue Skies Coming; Perrys; Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun; Daywind

Bluegrass Recorded Song of the Year – Mama’s Teaching Angels How to Sing; Naturally; The Isaacs; Dottie Rambo; Gaither Music Group

Country Recorded Song of the Year – Good Things Are Happening; Reach Out; Karen Peck & New River; Wayne Haun, Sonya Isaacs; Daywind

Urban Recorded Song of the Year – Sweeter; The Love Album; Kim Burrell; Kathy Burrell, Shanachie Records

Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year – Hold On; Change The Atmosphere; Christ Tabernacle Choir; Wayne Haun, Steve Carey, Matthew Garinger; Vine

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year – I Smile; Hello Fear; Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, James Harris, Terry Lewis, Fred Tackett; Verity

Worship Song of the Year – Your Great Name; Michael Neale, Krissy Nordhoff; Integrity’s Praise! Music (BMI), Two Nords Music (ASCAP)

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the YearRehab: The Overdose; Lecrae; Lecrae, Torrance Esmond,Kadence, Tony

Rock Album of the YearVice Verses; Switchfoot; Neal Avron; EMI CMG

Rock/Contemporary Album of the YearThe Reckoning; NEEDTOBREATHE; Rick Beato, Greg Wells, NEEDTOBREATHE; Atlantic Records

Pop/Contemporary Album of the YearBlessings; Laura Story; Nathan Nockels; Fair Trade Services, LLC

Inspirational Album of the YearHope Of The Broken World; Selah; Jason Kyle, Todd Smith, Allan Hall, Bernie Herms; Curb Records

Southern Gospel Album of the YearReach Out; Karen Peck & New River; Wayne Haun; Daywind

Bluegrass Album of the YearGrassroots Rambos; Rambo McGuire; Dony McGuire; Rambo McGuire Records

Country Album of the YearDreamin’ Wide Awake; Doug Anderson; Wayne Haun; StowTown

Urban Album of the YearChurch on the Moon; Deitrick Haddon; Fred Jenkins Deitrick Haddon, Cordell Walton, Blaze, AJ Encore, Ebony Eugene Suber, David Haddon, Calvin Frazier, Fred Jerkins III, wowJones; Verity Gospel Music Group

Traditional Gospel Album of the YearPromises; Richard Smallwood; Steven Ford, Richard Smallwood, Donald Lawrence, Daniel Weatherspoon; Verity Gospel Music Group

Contemporary Gospel Album of the YearHello Fear; Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, Shaun Martin; Verity Gospel Music Group

Instrumental Album of the YearUnfailing Love: 20 Worship Songs of Comfort and Peace; Stan Whitmire; Stan Whitmire; Green Hill Productions

Childrens Music Album of the YearGroovy; Denver and the Mile High Orchestra; Jamie Statema, Denver Bierman and Darren Rust; Go Fish Kids Records

Spanish Language Album of the YearTop 25 Cantos de Alabanza 2012; Various; Phil Sillas; Maranatha! Music

Special Event Album of the YearThe Story; Matthew West, Leigh Nash from Sixpence None the Richer, Mark Hall & Megan Garret from Casting Crowns, Brandon Heath, Bart Millard from Mercy Me, Michael Tait From Newsboys, Blanca Callahan from Group 1 Crew, Lecrae, Chris Tomlin, Peter Furler, Mandisa, Todd Smith from Selah, Michael W Smith, Jeremy Camp, Dan Haseltine from Jars of Clay, Matt Hammit from Sanctus Real, Steven Curtis Chapman, Natalie Grant, Mac Powell from Third Day, Nichole Nordeman, Amy Grant, Francesca Battistelli, Darlene Zschech; Bernie Herms, Brown Bannister; EMI, Provident, Word

Christmas Album of the YearOh For Joy; David Crowder*Band; David Crowder*Band; SixSteps/ Sparrow Records

Praise and Worship Album of the YearAnd If Our God is For Us…; Chris Tomlin; Ed Cash, Dan Muckala; EMI CMG

Musical of the YearDown From His Glory; Mike Speck;Lillenas Publishing Company

Youth/Childrens Musical of the YearGod of This City; Susie Williams, David Ebensberger & Luke Gambill; Brentwood-Benson Music Publishing

Choral Collection of the YearEverlasting Praise 3; Mike Speck, Stan Whitmire;Lillenas Publishing Company

Recorded Music Packaging of the YearChristmas In Diverse City; TobyMac; Jan Cook; Eddy Boer for Boerhaus; Lee Stephen, Ryan Lampa, Nick West; EMI CMG

Short Form Music Video of the Year – You Are More; Tenth Avenue North; Wes Edwards; Drew Langer; Ruckus Films; Reunion Records

Long Form Music Video of the Year – Fear Not Tomorrow; The Collingsworth Family; Curt Casassa; Jim Hammond; P&KC Music; P&KC Music


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured

About the Author

Eric T. Parker oversees operations and contributes editorial for MusicRow's print magazine,, the RowFax tip sheet and the MusicRow CountryBreakout chart. He also facilitates annual events for the enterprise, including MusicRow Awards, CountryBreakout Awards and the Rising Women on the Row. [email protected] | @EricTParker

View Author Profile