Mercyland Comp Features Civil Wars, Harris, and More

Follow MusicRow on Twitter Print This Post Print This Post
• February 2, 2012

Some of the bright lights of Americana and beyond are contributing songs to Mercyland: Hymns For The Rest of Us, a collection of songs of personal faith. Due out April 10, Mercyland is the vision of songwriter/musician/producer Phil Madeira, and features performances by The Civil Wars, Shawn Mullins, Buddy Miller, Mat Kearney, Emmylou Harris and more. Full track list is included below.

“When I was a young, my mother played me Mahalia Jackson, which introduced me to the reality of a bone chilling, soul-stirring music that made everything else pale in comparison,” says Madeira. “These were joyous odes to a Gospel that sang of the love and the dignity of all humanity. Watching the news during the last presidential election, I wondered why that message had been thrown out of what we hear in the national dialogue on religion, and replaced with exclusivity and mean-spiritedness.”

Mercyland: Hymns For the Rest of Us tracklist:
1. From This Valley – The Civil Wars
2. Give God The Blues – Shawn Mullins
3. I Believe In You – Buddy Miller
4. Lights In The Valley – The Carolina Chocolate Drops
5. Mercyland – Phil Madeira
6. Walking Over Water – Mat Kearney
7. Leaning On You – Cindy Morgan
8. Fell Like A Feather – Amy Stroup
9. If I Was Jesus – The North Mississippi Allstars
10. Light Of Your Love – Dan Tyminski
11. I Didn’t Know It Was You – Emmylou Harris
12. Peace In The Valley – John Scofield



Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Featured

About the Author

View Author Profile