Recording Academy Announces Special Merit Honorees

As the industry prepares for the 54th Annual Grammy Awards, The Recording Academy has announced the recipients of its Special Merit Awards for Lifetime Achievement, Trustees Awards, and Technical Grammys. The honors will be presented at a special invitation-only event during Grammy week on Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012. The 54th Annual Grammy Awards will  be broadcast live on CBS Sunday, Feb. 12 at 8 PM/ET.

Receiving Lifetime Achievement Awards will be The Allman Brothers Band, Glen Campbell, Antonio Carlos Jobim, George Jones, the Memphis Horns, Diana Ross, and the Gil-Scott Heron. Trustees Award recipients include Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs, and Rudy Van Gelder. Earning Technical Grammy honors are Celemony and Roger Nichols.

“This year’s honorees offer a variety of brilliance, contributions and lasting impressions on our culture,” said Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow. “It is an honor to recognize such a diverse group of individuals whose talents and achievements have had an indelible impact on our industry.”


Powered by Facebook Comments

Follow MusicRow on Twitter

Category: Artist, Awards, Featured, Organizations

About the Author

View Author Profile